Delicious Ham and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
Made it for dinner last night.....holy moly, it was GREAT. I added some left over broccoli bits; topped it with some chopped dill weed and parsley; served it with some crusty bread and it was a huge hit. This one goes in the front of my recipe box....you know the place where all the "favorites" go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tobe Halen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
This was easy and pretty good. Not as good as what I remember my Mom making when I was a kid. But I'll keep thr recipe and try it again. I added one chopped carrot and I also replaced one of the cups of milk with a cup of light cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
The bouillon gave the soup a nasty "commercial" taste. I made a second pot using frozen chicken stock I keep in the freezer and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
Great weeknight meal. A very hearty soup that is quick to prepare and delicious. My hubby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
This really is delicious soup. I used chicken base instead of bouillon, because that is what I had on hand, and about 1/2 t. pepper. The roux thickened the soup nicely. The whole family liked this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
I have tried this recipe multiple times. My boys love it. I usually add a little cheese to the milk mixture. Tonight I added a fourth teaspoon of cayenne pepper for a little kick. Was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
Nice. Similar to making a potato-leek soup or the base of a chowder. I tweaked this: No celery so I used celery salt. And I cringed when I saw the steps to use 2 pots so I did it all in one. Softened the onions in the butter, then added the flour to start the roux. Used a chicken stock and whisked in at this point, then added potatoes and ham to simmer. Also added diced carrots. Milk was added to simmer a few more minutes once the potatoes and carrots were tender. A nice option for using up leftover ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sk
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
Ham chowder! Added a half a small can of Niblett corn. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
Real treat and simple soup. I was not able to exactly follow, but even the minor substitutions worded out great I used 5 small chicken bullion cubes vice the tablespoon measurement. Next time I will only use 4 as it was on the verge of to salty. I also used six slices of diced deli sandwich ham as I did not have the typical ham chunks. Great soup on a cold chilly day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 8,679) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States