Delicious Ham and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
I had some boneless ham and couldn't figure out what to do with it. This soup was perfect! I always have potatoes, celery and onions on hand. It is so easy and delicious. This definitely goes into my recipe book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carolynb12

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
I've made this recipe twice now and we absolutely love it. The first time I used water and chicken bouillon but I found it a bit too salty for my taste. The second time I just used boxed chicken stock (reduced sodium) and it was excellent. Also, I like adding shredded carrots for some color and extra flavour. Great recipe my husband loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
Fabulous! I used Ore Ida diced hash brown potatoes and it was still fabulous. Just put them in the pot frozen and make the recipe as written and save yourself the trouble of all that dicing. I made this 3 times in two weeks as it such a comfort food during cold weather.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
Simple and amazing!!! We love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
The easiest soup to make and so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
I usually make this without the ham, and everyone who has tried it agrees it is the best creamy potato soup they've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
doubled the ham, as used the Christmas ham bone, simmered that for a few hours, pulled off all the ham, drained the fat from the stock, used 1 c of ham stock and 1.5 cups water. Didn't have celery, but have made this dish several times and used celery. It's awesome! Today I also used Lawreys in place of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Needs more ham and salt to get a fuller.flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natasha Borquez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
This is the most amazing recipe I have ever cooked. It might actually be the best thing I ever tasted. It took some long, grueling work, but it was definitely and completely worth it. The roux really made this dish amazing because of its perfect consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
I think that if I had to only make one soup recipe for the rest of my life...it would have to be this one. My family and I love it, and it's quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 8,631) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States