Delicious Ham and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
I loved this soup and so did my friends. Here's some tips. Don't walk away from the stove while mixing the milk and flour not even for a minute. I added extra ham and also added a can of corn and a cup of coarsely shredded carrots. The chicken bouillon made it pretty salty but I personally don't like things too salty. No one but me felt that way though. I'd probably use a lot less next time. I topped the soup with cheddar cheese before serving. Everyone LOVED it. Also note that this soup doesn't taste nearly as good the next day, the consistency gets weird nor does it freeze well so plan to finish it off in one night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnyD72

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
A delicious, creamy soup, and quite easy to make. However, it called for way too much pepper--it was just too strong. About a 1/2 tsp pepper tastes much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Like everybody stated, great recipe! Even my wife who is a picky eater liked it. It was very easy to make and I can see how you could easily change the ingredients to suite your own taste like adding imitation crab (or real) and a touch of old bay to make a super easy seafood chowder, or maybe just spicing it up a little bit with bacon crumbles and/or shredded cheese. You could add deferent herbs like parsley, thyme, rosemary or sage. I suggest using fresh herbs instead of dried because the soup only takes 10-15 mins to cook and that's not really long enough to infuse the favor of the dried herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
This was absolutely amazing!!! I will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Steenburgh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
This was souper yummy! ;-) I did add a bit more seasonings to it (extra pepper, etc) because I thought it was a tad bland, but in actuality the subtle cramy flavor from the potatoes is the perfect backdrop for the other ingredients you toss in. Ham, yes, but you could throw almost anything in the pot and as long as you followed the original ratios of solid/liquid you would have a delicious meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Great soup! I do like a little meatier versions myself, so I bbq'd two seasoned chicken drumsticks, and threw the meat in the soup as well. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Followed the recipe as is and it is delicious!!!! If your kids don't like onions substitute with onion powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
This is my go to for a soup. I always do something different with it, add cooked chopped bacon, or cooked sausage, or throw in whatever veggies I have in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Didnt have chicken bouillon, so used the Better Than Bouillon Ham Base. I think as is, it would be a 5. Think the Ham Base bumped it up to a 6!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
This is THE BEST potato soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 8,020) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States