Delicious Greens and Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
I enjoyed this recipe, only I modified a few things. 1) I used bacon instead of ham 2) I omitted the tomatoes, they really aren't necessary. 3) I added the vinegar to the ham/onion mixture, this coated the whole product more thoroughly, and it really soaked the flavor into the greens a bit better. This was great, tasted just like my granny used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
This was a very good and simple way to make turnip greens. I bet it would be good with other types of greens as well. I didn't have enough turnip greens, so I added some spinach I had on hand. I think next time I might add garlic for personal preference...and maybe some chili flakes. But it's good as-is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mishi
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
This was pretty good. I had never eaten turnip greens before and needed a recipe. It looked colorful and healthy and tasted great! We didn't have apple cider vinegar, so we just used white vinegar. I also had to use stewed tomatoes instead of diced. Next time I think I will use diced. All in all, it was quite tasty. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
This was pretty good, just a bit salty, but I put more ham in than called for. Also think it would be better with fresh tomatoes or at least with one of the best brands of tomatoes (I used cheaper one). Husband and daughter loved it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
I also skipped the tomatoes entirely. I also overdid the ham. It came out quite salty as a result. Anyone who makes a similar mistake: slice in a few potatoes and re-cook until those are tender. Potatoes are great for soaking up salt, and it gives the whole dish a Germanic touch. My kids are not into greenery, but my husband and I liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
For such a simple recipe, this is delicious! We had some fresh turnips from the garden and as I was washing them I thought it would be nice to use the greens as well. So glad I did. My only complaint is that the vinegar was a bit much for our tastes but stil good. Would cut that in half next time. Also, I was very tempted to add garlic as other reviewers did just because the recipe looked too simple. I'm glad I resisted. This was great as is. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
This was good! Didn't have ham and used a large chopped yellow tomato and it was really good regardless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
This recipe was pretty good. If I make it again I will only use 1 tbs cider vinegar though; I thought 2 tbs was too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A time to eat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
prepared as per recipe with our freshly-picked organic turnip greens - delicious!! no more compost pile for those greens, not with this recipe!! thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Pretty good. I added plenty of garlic and left out the tomatoes, although I'm sure they would be good. I used turkey bacon instead of ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States