Delicious Greens and Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
This is delicious! I have never cooked greens before! Made as written but added chopped turnips to greens and balsamic vinegar and feta cheese toppings! It was a delicious! Thank-you! Will be picking more turnips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
It IS a delicious recipe. I added more ham to make it a main dish. I didn't have turnip greens, but had some collards which worked very well. Also, I had some cherry tomatoes that I needed to use up so they went into the skillet as well. Sounds like I made a lot of changes, but not really. Thank you for the recipe! - mjcarbo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
prepared as per recipe with our freshly-picked organic turnip greens - delicious!! no more compost pile for those greens, not with this recipe!! thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Pretty good. I added plenty of garlic and left out the tomatoes, although I'm sure they would be good. I used turkey bacon instead of ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
Easy, delicious and healthy! Was pleasantly surprised at how good it tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
For such a simple recipe, this is delicious! We had some fresh turnips from the garden and as I was washing them I thought it would be nice to use the greens as well. So glad I did. My only complaint is that the vinegar was a bit much for our tastes but stil good. Would cut that in half next time. Also, I was very tempted to add garlic as other reviewers did just because the recipe looked too simple. I'm glad I resisted. This was great as is. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Local store had large bag of turnip greens on sale for 49 cents. Had never eaten or cooked greens before. Used bacon (didn't have ham on hand) and turned out GREAT! Big hit with whole family. Will definitely watch for that sale again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
We enjoyed this. Kids preferred it without the vinegar, adults added red pepper flakes. In the last few minutes of cooking, I added a couple cups of cooked blackeyed peas that we needed to use up-- those went nicely with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsborough, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
I think this was delicious as is....Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
This is so good! I made it as the recipe said to and I really enjoyed this. I made it once with ham and another time with a little bacon instead of ham. Great both ways! I must say, making it with turnip greens from my own garden is so much better than with store-bought greens. I will try with home-grown beet greens next time, for a new twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States