Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Great recipe! I made a few changes. I didn't have dry buttermilk powder, so I used 4 TBS milk plus 2 teaspoons of lemon juice. I used 2 TBS granulated sugar instead of sugar subsittue. I omitted the tapioca powder. Added about 1 1/2 tsp of vanilla flavoring. Since I used milk in this recipe, I decreased the water to 1 1/2 cups. The batter will be a little "runny", but it didn't effect the taste. I will be making these again and freezing them. I will be adding blueberries next batch I make. Try these, you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
These were amazing and a SUPER treat for anyone whether they are coeliac or not. So light and fluffy! My substitutions: As I am allergic to egg I used a gluten free Organ powered egg substitute. In place of the buttermilk and water I used rice milk with a little drop of white vinegar so that the pancake would rise. Instead of the oil I used very finely grated apple and used 1/2 teaspoon or organic unrefined caster sugar instead of the sugar substitute. Before cooking I added blueberries in and when finally done, I poured agave and fresh strawberry sauce ( strawberries pureed with a little water mixed into the sauce, no sugar added). FABULOUS! Thanks for a great recipe for allergy suffers to enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Better than any wheat pancakes I ever made. Fast, simple and delicious...Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blackdiamondmt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by That Girl3
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
Amazing! I'm wheat, sugar, dairy, corn and oat free, so finding yummy things can be occasionally challenging. But this recipe is easy to follow and easy to alter. Instead of a dry sugar sub, I used 1 TBSP agave nectar, and 4 TBSP coconut milk for the dry buttermilk. Used 3 TBSP applesauce instead of oil, and reduced water to 1 cup. My hubby knows I have dietary restrictions, but he said these were so good, that he thought I used a box mix at first-until I started eating them too! ^_^ Thank you for this keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by That Girl3

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Thanks for the great gf recipe! I really enjoyed these pancakes. I think the batter was a little thin. Next time, I'll use less liquid (I used vinegar & milk instead of buttermilk). Besides that, they are great. Just a word of caution to those new to the gf lifestyle - gf will never taste the same as wheat so don't expect it to. But these are very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ginniej

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Somers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
We loved these, I used stevia instead of sugar packet, and clear jel instead of potato starch. They are huge fluffy and great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
These were excellent. They were fluffy and tasted great. I added 1 Tbsp evaporated cane sugar (instead of sugar substitute), real buttermilk (instead of powdered buttermilk + water), 1.5 tsp cinnamon and 1 tsp vanilla. I didn't have any potato starch so I substituted it for tapioca flour. The pancakes turned out great even with the changes I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scarborough Fair

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prunedale, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
These were so good!!! I changed this a little, I only used 1 3/4 cups of water instead of 2 cups & used about 1 tsp of vanilla. Thank you for sharing !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
I use wholegrain rice flour, substitute the water for soy milk, leaving out the buttermilk powder (dairy allergies) and substitute guar gum for the xanthan gum, but these changes are superficial. The pancakes have more of a cornbread taste this way, however. The texture and rise is PERFECT. I haven't found a gluten-free recipe that looks and feels so much like the fluffy pancakes of my youth. I serve my pancakes with salsa and my two toddlers just love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merchantShip

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Armstrong, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Quito, Pichincha, Ecuador

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
These were fantastic, but the four stars is because I made a major change in the liquid. They were too runny and the pancakes were thin. So after I made the first few, I added about 1/2 cup more rice flour (approximately, I really just dumped it in til the consistancy was right). They they came out really good. Next time I will use less liquid from the start. Oh, and I used milk and 2 tablespoons of lemon juice in it instead of buttermilk powder and water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

Chef John's Buckwheat Pancakes

A great pancake with 100% buckwheat flour!

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States