Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
These were excellent. They were fluffy and had a great flavor. The instructions were easy to understand. I added 1 Tbsp evaporated cane sugar (instead of sugar substitute), real buttermilk (instead of powdered buttermilk + water), and 1 tsp cinnamon. I didn't have any potato starch so I substituted it for tapioca flour. The pancakes turned out great even with the changes I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scarborough Fair

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prunedale, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
These were so good!!! I changed this a little, I only used 1 3/4 cups of water instead of 2 cups & used about 1 tsp of vanilla. Thank you for sharing !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
I use wholegrain rice flour, substitute the water for soy milk, leaving out the buttermilk powder (dairy allergies) and substitute guar gum for the xanthan gum, but these changes are superficial. The pancakes have more of a cornbread taste this way, however. The texture and rise is PERFECT. I haven't found a gluten-free recipe that looks and feels so much like the fluffy pancakes of my youth. I serve my pancakes with salsa and my two toddlers just love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merchantShip

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Armstrong, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Quito, Pichincha, Ecuador

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
These were fantastic, but the four stars is because I made a major change in the liquid. They were too runny and the pancakes were thin. So after I made the first few, I added about 1/2 cup more rice flour (approximately, I really just dumped it in til the consistancy was right). They they came out really good. Next time I will use less liquid from the start. Oh, and I used milk and 2 tablespoons of lemon juice in it instead of buttermilk powder and water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Stop the car. The search for a real tasting pancake is over! My little boy couldn't believe these pancakes were gluten free. Yeah!I've tried a lot of recipes and this one was by far the best. I did question the amount of water indicated, but the batter did thicken after a few minutes, so I added the water gradually .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
Fantastic and yummy! Didn't tell my picky-eater son they were gluten-free, and he gobbled them up without batting an eye. I used 1-1/2 cups almond milk instead of the dry buttermilk powder/2 cups of water. Also substituted 1/4 cup sugar for the 1 packet sugar substitute. Makes 'em a bit sweet...2 tablespoons of sugar might be plenty. Used cooking spray on the skillet. For 4 people, I doubled the recipe and had about 3 pancakes left at the end of brunch. These are simply scrumptious hotcakes--thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
This is the BEST gluten free pancake recipe out there!! My kids can't even taste the difference. The only pancake recipe I will make, EVER!! YUMMMMMY!!! You made my morning!! The only thing I did different was instead of dry buttermilk powder I used 2 cups milk with 2 Tbsp. white vinegar. Thank You!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Branch, Iowa, USA
Living In: Tipton, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
These are delish! My brothers are wheat intolerent so My mom and i cook a dubble batch with mini chocolate chips and bananas and freeze them for the next mornings breakfast!!! YUMMM!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poquoson, Virginia, USA
Living In: Collinsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
I debated between three and four stars for this. The batter was very runny and the pancakes were thin. I'm sure I should have added more flour, but was worried I'd mess up the proportions and the kids were too hungry already. The flavor was pretty good, as close to regular wheat pancakes as gluten free gets, but if you're new to GF don't expect exact - ever. We've tried so many that were barely edible. I'm not giving up on this one yet. Next time I'll try it with rice milk in place of the powder and water, and start with much less liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
These are delicious! I'm on a wheat-free diet rignt now, plus I work in natural foods where we get a lot of customers that are gluten-free, so I wanted to try this recipe for them. I substited 2 cups real buttermilk for the powder and water. I also added 1/2 tsp. cinnamon. They tasted really good! The texture is not the same as regular pancakes, we found they were a little mushy. But if you have to do gluten-free, definitely give these a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Rice Flour Pancakes

See how to make 5-star, completely gluten-free pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States