Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
I subbed out ground flax seed (mix it with the water and let it soak a few minutes) for the xanthan gum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
These were delicious! I'm not much of a pancake eater, but my husband is. I found out about 3/4 wks ago that I have 36 food allergies. This receipe was so easy to substitute a couple things more that I can't tolerate. My husband is a very fussy eater and I wasn't sure he would even try them, but he was gobbling them up and giving ideas for fruit to use instead of the suggested blueberries - wow! He loved them and I really like them. Thank you so much. It is the first thing I've found that he will also eat,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
This recipe is so delicious!!! I am casein-free as well, but I used soy yogurt and almond milk in place of the buttermilk powder and water and it still worked perfectly. I can already imagine the variations I can make with this recipe--some nut flour, vanilla & cinnamon are among the ingredients I plan to try next time. I will definitely be making a huge batch of pre-mixed dry ingredients to make this recipe much quicker on a busy morning. **Follow-up: I made these today substituting 1/4 of the rice flour with almond meal, and added a teaspoon of vanilla and they were even more amazing than the first time. I think I might even add more almond meal next time since it didn't seem to affect the texture in a negative way and it adds plenty of protein so I don't have to feel so guilty about eating these several times/week! Also, if you let the batter rest for about 5 minutes before you pour it on your griddle, it will thicken a bit and give the soda/buttermilk (or in my case, soy yogurt) time to start producing bubbles making the pancakes super fluffy. And a quick tip if you want to pre-mix a large batch of the dry ingredients to save time: use 2 cups of the pre-mixed dry ingredients and keep the liquid ingredients the same. And halving this recipe makes the perfect amount for me and my two little boys (4 1/2 and 1 1/2).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
These are great for gluten-free, but the consistency is not at all similar to regular wheat pancakes as described. The TASTE is great though! I made a few modifications to fit in w/ our diet: ground flax seed for eggs, 1 tbsp agave for sweetener, and almond milk instead of water. (I added about 1.5 cups.) My experience w/ xanthan gum is that there is a kind of "gummy" texture to anything I bake w/ it. I may need to explore other binding alternatives. All in all though, this is a great recipe and a keeper. My kids love them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandpoint, Idaho, USA
Living In: Fairview, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
These pancakes are simply amazing. They cook up brown and beautiful with a crispy outside and tender inside. I like my pancakes a little thinner then this recipe makes so I added more water and I had delicious thinner pancakes. I also substituted buttermilk instead of the water and buttermilk powder. Such a treat when I can't have regular pancakes!!!! Thank-you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
My first experience making gluten free pancakes and these are soooo wonderful!! My husband couldn't tell the difference and keeps asking for me to make more. They keep great in the frig and toast perfectly in my toaster oven for quick snacks and sandwiches. I didn't have buttermilk powder so I used 1 cup kefir and enough water to make a batter, less than 1 cup. I also used sugar instead of a substitute. Fluffy goodness!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Thank you to everyone who takes the time to write reviews. My husband recently decided to try going gluten free to stop the horrible stomach pains he has gone through for the last 5 years. Not having the first clue, I have to rely on reviews and they are all on the mark on this one. We loved these pancakes!!!!! I didn't have potato starch so I had to sub tapioca flour and for the 3 tbsp of tapoica flour I used Bob's Red Mill GF Baking Mix. I used Stevia instead of sugar and reduces the baking powder and soda because I live in a high altitude area. Last, I slowly added the water to where I thought the consistancy looked good and cooked them on a griddle. Perfect, fluffy, yummy pancakes. Thanks to everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
My two teenage sons have celiac disease and have really missed having pancakes. Everything we've tried is almost inedible. These are the best gluten free pancakes we have ever made! I'm not a big fan of reviews that have a ton of substitutions, but I did have to make one substitution as we didn't have any buttermilk powder. Instead of the powder and 2 cups of water, I used 2 cups of milk, mixed in 2 T of lemon juice and let it sit for 5 minutes. The batter came out more watery than normal pancake batter, but my gluten free bread batters are more watery as well so I didn't make any adjustments. I did turn the burner down lower than for normal pancakes to compensate. The pancakes were nicely browned on the outside and light and fluffy on the inside. Amazing! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clifton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
So good! I took the advice of the first reviewer, Aubrey, and they turned out great. Very fluffy and moist and great topped with apple butter :) Easy to make as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Not sure whats going on with the recipe? The middle is gooey no matter what I tried. Medium heat, high heat and even low heat, they come out gooey. I even tried to bake them to see if it were possible, still gooey. I've cooked these about 4 times now. I followed the recipe exactly and its always gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

Rice Flour Pancakes

See how to make 5-star, completely gluten-free pancakes.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States