Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Excellent!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
My batter turned out REALLY runny, but we used it anyway and ended up with crepe-like pancakes. They were delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scubagirl0

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
These were really good! We are just now learning about gluten free cooking and baking, but unfortunately we can not do eggs or milk products along with gluten. I used Energizer Egg replacer instead of the eggs, and coconut milk instead of the buttermilk powder and two cups of water. I also used half white rice flour, and half brown rice flour. I will make these again, but may cut back the rice flour and use sorghum in the future. They were definitely gummy rice flour in texture. I must add though my kids scarfed these up faster than our usual gluten egg milk pancakes, and asked for seconds and thirds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
The whole family loved these! We did make the following changes: 1) substituted lowfat buttermilk for the powder and water, 2) substituted 1 TBS sugar for the sugar substitute, 3) substituted 3 TBS butter (melted) for the canola oil, 4) used 3 eggs since they were small, and 5) added 1 1/2 tsp of vanilla. Prepared the dry ingredients in one bowl and set to the side. Combined the buttermilk and egg whites in one bowl and the melted butter and yolks in another. Then added the butter/yolk mixture and vanilla to the buttermilk/whites and stirred. Added the liquid to the dry ingredients, stirred until blended, and then let set for 10 minutes before making the pancakes. We used to buy expensive gluten free pre-made mixes but not anymore. Thanks for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
These turned out better than my regular pancakes do! GREAT recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tgoodhart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Christiansburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Probably the best pancakes I've ever had. Modifications I made were 1/3 cup sorghum flour, 4 tbsp non-fat dry milk powder, 2 tsp evaporated sugar cane, and 3 tbsp Smart Balance oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
I just have to say, this is our favorite pancake recipe, Gluten free or not! We make these every Saturday and my family looks forward to it. But I have changed the flour a little because of allergies. I used cornstarch instead of potato. Plus just for fun sometimes I mix it up with sorghum and buckwheat. My daughter said, "You make the best pancakes in the world!" Of course I take all the credit. LOL! This a great versatile recipe that turns out every time! THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECKERS68

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Copperas Cove, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
I subbed out ground flax seed (mix it with the water and let it soak a few minutes) for the xanthan gum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
These were delicious! I'm not much of a pancake eater, but my husband is. I found out about 3/4 wks ago that I have 36 food allergies. This receipe was so easy to substitute a couple things more that I can't tolerate. My husband is a very fussy eater and I wasn't sure he would even try them, but he was gobbling them up and giving ideas for fruit to use instead of the suggested blueberries - wow! He loved them and I really like them. Thank you so much. It is the first thing I've found that he will also eat,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
This recipe is so delicious!!! I am casein-free as well, but I used soy yogurt and almond milk in place of the buttermilk powder and water and it still worked perfectly. I can already imagine the variations I can make with this recipe--some nut flour, vanilla & cinnamon are among the ingredients I plan to try next time. I will definitely be making a huge batch of pre-mixed dry ingredients to make this recipe much quicker on a busy morning. **Follow-up: I made these today substituting 1/4 of the rice flour with almond meal, and added a teaspoon of vanilla and they were even more amazing than the first time. I think I might even add more almond meal next time since it didn't seem to affect the texture in a negative way and it adds plenty of protein so I don't have to feel so guilty about eating these several times/week! Also, if you let the batter rest for about 5 minutes before you pour it on your griddle, it will thicken a bit and give the soda/buttermilk (or in my case, soy yogurt) time to start producing bubbles making the pancakes super fluffy. And a quick tip if you want to pre-mix a large batch of the dry ingredients to save time: use 2 cups of the pre-mixed dry ingredients and keep the liquid ingredients the same. And halving this recipe makes the perfect amount for me and my two little boys (4 1/2 and 1 1/2).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

Rice Flour Pancakes

See how to make 5-star, completely gluten-free pancakes.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States