Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
Excellent! It really does have a consistency and taste comparable to wheat flour pancakes. Much to the dismay of my long suffering family, I've tried many gluten free pancake recipes and store bought mixes...all of which have been disappointing. I made a few changes to adapt to the fact that I couldn't buy dry powdered buttermilk, only dry powdered whole milk. Since I substituted regular milk powder I also added 2 T (heaped) sour cream. I also added 1/3 C additional water as the batter seemed a bit too thick. Instead of xanthan gum I used 4T of gluten substitute. I have found that the gluten substitute replicates the texture of normal wheat flour much better than xanthan gum. Generally you use 2T/20 grams of gluten sub for every 1C/+-100 grams of gluten free flour mix. I also added a can of rinsed blueberries which made them extra tasty! I had extra batter left over which I used the next morning with the same great results. Thank you Joe for this great recipe (my family thanks you even more)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
This is a great recipe! My husband doesn't even know I am using a gluten-free recipe - and I'm not telling him. I did make a few changes, though. I have a grain mill, so I used 1/4 cup brown basmati rice and 1/3 cup regular brown rice milled to make 1 cup flour. I also used 1 1/2 cups lo-fat buttermilk since I didn't have buttermilk powder (use in place of water and buttermilk powder). I don't like the taste of artificial sweetners so I used 8 drops of stevia liquid (an herbal substitute for sugar)in place of the packet of sugar substitute. They turned out great and I have used this recipe for family and guests alike and received rave reviews. No one has even asked me if they are gluten-free. You can add blueberries, too. YUM! Thanks, Joe, for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
I made this with the following change, I used buttermilk for the liquid and substituted 1/2 cup montina flour for 1/2 cup of the rice flour. These were so good that even those not on gluten free diets thought they were excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Joppa, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
This recipe is great! I used rice flour from an asian food market because it's ground so fine that you don't get that gritty taste that some rice flours have in the finished product. Instead of artificial sweetener I used one tablespoon of sugar. To one cup of the batter I added 1/2 cup frozen blueberries. To another cup of batter I grated one medium apple and added 1/4 tsp. cinnamon. My family loved them and there was no aftertaste that some flours leave. Can't say enough about how great these were!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
This was better than the store bought gluten free pancake mixes that I have tasted. The measurement of milk was maybe runnier than I like for my pancakes so I gradually add it in. I found that it is perfect for making waffles too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
These were VERY good. And yes, they really are indistinguishable from regular wheat based pancakes. We used them in our waffle iron with excellent results. Our only variation was to use egg substitute. I was out of baking powder but found a recipe for it and happened to have all the ingredients necessary. For anyone who needs it, just mix 1 part baking soda, 1 part cornstarch and 2 parts cream of tartar. For this particular recipe I omitted the cornstarch since the recipe itself already had tapioca starch and potato starch. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
We've tried lots of different GFCF (Gluten and Casein Free) recipes for pancakes and they were... edible. Most were really flat like tortillas. Not this recipe! My kids had NO clue they were eating gluten free! (My daughter needs enzymes in order to consume wheat or milk products.) She thought they tasted like the real thing. I did change a few things.... instead of the canola oil, I used applesauce. Instead of the buttermilk powder and 2 cups of water, I used almond milk. It was a little runny (so, I'd probably add the almond milk until it was the perfect consistancy.) I also added some dried blueberries to the mix. :) Other than that, they were fluffy & thick and oh so good! The batch was big enough for me to freeze some. Every morning my kids wake up and ask for more yummy pancakes. Thanks a lot for posting this :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
398 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
These are delicious pancakes! My grandchildren are wheat-intolerent, so when they came to stay, I made these pancakes for them. They scarfed them up! My son told me he cooks batches of these, freezes them, and they use them to make sandwiches and snackes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
These pancakes are very good. I also made them without the eggs and they were a little dense and filling but they still had a tender texture that absorbed the butter and syrup well and tasted yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
These are excellent - and do taste like "regular" pancakes. The only changes I made was to add about a cup of frozen blueberries, and about 2-3 Tbs of ground flax seed, for a little extra nutrition and fiber. Highly recommended for a gluten free alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

Rice Flour Pancakes

See how to make 5-star, completely gluten-free pancakes.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States