Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 19, 2012
Best GFCF pancake we've had! We made it casein free by omitting the dry buttermilk and using coconut milk or rice milk (whatever was on hand) for the water. Sometimes I add Enjoy Life chocolate chips, other times I add diced apple and cinnamon. My pancake deprived 7 and 9 year old thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
It is not utmost perfection, but it is the BEST gluten-free pancake recipe I have found to date. They were nice and fluffy, mostly cooked through quite well. I did have to substitute cornstarch for the potato starch and I used milk with a splash of vinegar in lieu of water plus I didn't add the buttermilk powder (didn't have any). I used a little less liquid to compensate for that loss. I will be making these again for certain!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyceia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Had to do a few substitutions since I didn't have all the ingredients...nonfat dry milk-no tapioca flour so I used half amount of cornstarch...only used 1-1.5 cups of water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Best gluten free pancake recipe, ever! Good wheat taste approximation. I use actual sugar instead of sugar substitute, rice milk instead of buttermilk powder in a pinch and melted butter instead of vegetable oil (taste preference). None of these substitutes impact the overall flavor - great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
"We should eat gluten free all the time," was the comment from my 7-yr old when I served these for breakfast. My 12 yr old said they were better than regular pancakes to eat plain. I think that is testimony enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Great basic g/f pancake recipe. I will try playing with a flour blend next time instead of all rice flour, and when I doubled the batch I used 3 cups of rice milk instead of what would have been 4 cups water & the buttermilk powder. i made a bunch extra and froze them for a quick warm breakfast when we are running short on time, they taste just fine reheated in the toaster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
The only change I made was substituting 2 cups of milk for the water and buttermilk powder. These were excellent. None of my gluten-eating family could tell the difference. They cooked better when I spread the batter thinly on the pan. This recipe is a keeper, thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I never review any recipe, but had to review this one. I have 2 very picky kids who ate 2 large pancakes each after making this recipe. The only change I made was to remove the salt and baking soda (as I didn't have baking soda on hand), and instead I added an extra 1 tsp of baking powder, other than that I followed the recipe to a T. I should also state that I am a NOVICE cook, and found these easy, you just have to watch the pancakes carefully as they burn quickly :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
I would give this 5 stars, but 2 cups of water is WAY too much. Every time my husband and I make this, we only need 1/2 cup of water. I also do tapioca starch in place of the potato starch because I never buy potato starch. So, I do 1/3 cup plus 3 Tablespoons tapioca flour/starch. Otherwise, the flavor is great. I leave out the xanthan gum quite often too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
SO yummy. after reading the comments of previous recipe testers I replaced the canola oil with strawberry applesauce and I didnt have any buttermilk powder so I used regular dry milk and they came out PERFECT. not too fluffy, not too thin and even yummier than "regular" pancakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

Chef John's Buckwheat Pancakes

A great pancake with 100% buckwheat flour!

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States