Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
It is not utmost perfection, but it is the BEST gluten-free pancake recipe I have found to date. They were nice and fluffy, mostly cooked through quite well. I did have to substitute cornstarch for the potato starch and I used milk with a splash of vinegar in lieu of water plus I didn't add the buttermilk powder (didn't have any). I used a little less liquid to compensate for that loss. I will be making these again for certain!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyceia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Had to do a few substitutions since I didn't have all the ingredients...nonfat dry milk-no tapioca flour so I used half amount of cornstarch...only used 1-1.5 cups of water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Best gluten free pancake recipe, ever! Good wheat taste approximation. I use actual sugar instead of sugar substitute, rice milk instead of buttermilk powder in a pinch and melted butter instead of vegetable oil (taste preference). None of these substitutes impact the overall flavor - great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
"We should eat gluten free all the time," was the comment from my 7-yr old when I served these for breakfast. My 12 yr old said they were better than regular pancakes to eat plain. I think that is testimony enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Great basic g/f pancake recipe. I will try playing with a flour blend next time instead of all rice flour, and when I doubled the batch I used 3 cups of rice milk instead of what would have been 4 cups water & the buttermilk powder. i made a bunch extra and froze them for a quick warm breakfast when we are running short on time, they taste just fine reheated in the toaster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
The only change I made was substituting 2 cups of milk for the water and buttermilk powder. These were excellent. None of my gluten-eating family could tell the difference. They cooked better when I spread the batter thinly on the pan. This recipe is a keeper, thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I never review any recipe, but had to review this one. I have 2 very picky kids who ate 2 large pancakes each after making this recipe. The only change I made was to remove the salt and baking soda (as I didn't have baking soda on hand), and instead I added an extra 1 tsp of baking powder, other than that I followed the recipe to a T. I should also state that I am a NOVICE cook, and found these easy, you just have to watch the pancakes carefully as they burn quickly :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
I would give this 5 stars, but 2 cups of water is WAY too much. Every time my husband and I make this, we only need 1/2 cup of water. I also do tapioca starch in place of the potato starch because I never buy potato starch. So, I do 1/3 cup plus 3 Tablespoons tapioca flour/starch. Otherwise, the flavor is great. I leave out the xanthan gum quite often too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
SO yummy. after reading the comments of previous recipe testers I replaced the canola oil with strawberry applesauce and I didnt have any buttermilk powder so I used regular dry milk and they came out PERFECT. not too fluffy, not too thin and even yummier than "regular" pancakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
these pancakes are simply wonderful! The inly change that I made was to use brown rice flour instead of white, and to use almond milk instead of water and buttermilk powder. My hubby didnt know the difference, which I dont get. These are better than the traditional. Each bite tasted like a bite of custard/ pancake....terrific! So good. I actually threw in a dash of cinnamon. I almost firgot. Hooray!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin MaLoon Rowley

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

Rice Flour Pancakes

See how to make 5-star, completely gluten-free pancakes.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States