Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Just saw the video and it looks delicious. One question: can these be made ahead of time and frozen? If so, how long are they good for?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Gummy texture...No matter how long I cooked these they still didn't seem to cook in the middle. Maybe it was because I used real buttermilk and not the buttermilk powder/water option. I'm new to gluten free cooking and this was my first pancake recipe. I could taste the potato starch. My kids weren't a fan. HOWEVER, I give it 3, almost 4, because they actually taste great cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Great Idea! Love the Recipe Idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Hamden, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
EXCELLENT! This is truly a undetectable GF recipe. Fluff, great texture, and yummy. Used 2 cups unsweetened plain almond milk with 1TBLS lemon juice (mixed and set aside for few minutes) as substitute for buttermilk powder and water. Also added 1tsp vanilla. Served to reg wheat eaters and they LOVED them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
I have a son with dairy & gluten allergy that needs low sodium, so I modified your recipe. I think it tastes better. Dry Ingredients: 1 cup rice flour 3 T tapioca flour 1/3 cup potato starch 1/2 t xanthan gum 1 T brown sugar 3 1/2 t gluten free no sodium baking powder 1. Mix these in separate bowl and set aside. 2. Mix 2 cups of unsweetened almond milk with 2 T lemon juice; let that set at room temp for a few minutes 3. In separate bowl beat 2 eggs; add 1 1/2 t of vanilla and 1 1/2 T grapeseed oil 4. Add milk mixture to egg mixture and mix well 5. Add wet mixture to dry mixture and mix with spatula until large lumps are gone--leave the small ones. 6. Heat skillet using grapeseed oil; use 1/3 cup batter per pancake Note: Each pancake has ~35 mg sodium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
My 10 year old son gas been gluten free for over a year and my pancakes were especially hard for him to give up (my kids call me the pancake god). I have tried many recipes and all of the store bought mixes, but, they all just suck. This is amazing!! The only thing I changed was putting reg buttermilk because I couldn't find powdered. I also took the advice of another reviewer and went to the asian market and bought my rice flour...not gritty at all. My son about lost his mind because he can finally have yummy pancakes again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zion, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bonaire, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
We are not celiac but had a friend who came for breakfast brunch who is gluten sensitive, so we decided to do a batch of GF pancakes. This recipe is awesome tasting. It made about 25 3-4inch size pancakes. Only modification we did was replace buttermilk powder and the water with 2 cups actual buttermilk and thinned it out with some milk since the batter got too thick to pour. Added 1 diced banana and about 1/2 cup chocolate chip to batter and let the batter rest for 10 minutes while we worked on the other brunch items. Cooked beautifully and for a GF recipe, you would not notice much difference. Fluffy and moist and everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longueuil, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
making gf pancakes is much simpler than this and with better results as well. using a good gf flour mix eliminates the need for all these extra products - just use a good blend like Jules and follow a regular recipe. you might add a bit more baking powder for a little more rise - but that's the only think I do differently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Loved these pancakes. They are so much better than GF mixes I have tried. We are dairy free so I substituted dry goat milk for the buttermilk, and they still came out delicious. Yes, they are a little softer or moister inside than a standard pancake, but I wouldn't say they were too mushy or anything. Great taste and texture, I enjoyed eating one without butter or syrup or anything. However they were better with my blend of maple syrup and fig preserves on top...yummmmy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
Kids and us loved these. I used brown rice flour and cornflour instead of white ride flour and potato starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

Rice Flour Pancakes

See how to make 5-star, completely gluten-free pancakes.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States