Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
This tasted good as gluten free pancakes go, but the batter is way too thin to get fluffy pancakes, tried it with muffin proportions of wet to dry, (1 1/4 cups of milk, also left out the xanthan gum), added 1 tsp of vanilla,turned out pretty good, a little heavy. Looks like regular pancakes too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
This was delicious, although I made a couple of changes. I substituted extra virgin coconut oil for the canola oil. I used low fat regular buttermilk instead of buttermilk powder and water. I added some almond paste (byproduct from making some almond milk).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
I changed a few things to suit my ingredients on hand. I didn't have all of the flours so I just used Bob's Red Mill pre mixed all purpose gluten free flour instead with the same measurement as if you mixed all of them in the recipe above. I also didn't have powdered buttermilk so I skipped water and substituted the same volume of water for a mix of 1 part milk to 2 parts cream and 2 tsps of white vinegar. I also subbed out the canola oil for cinnamon apple sauce and added extra cinnamon. These take longer to cook than wheat flour ones, keep that in mind. My dad didn't notice and really liked them and when I told him they were GF he said, "what is this, witch craft?" Ha ha they were a win in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
I love these. These are by far the best gf pancakes! I make them every other day, even my kids love them. I do make a few changes... I added abut a teaspoon more soda to make them a bit fluffier. I also add one cup of real buttermilk and one cup water....or just until it's the thickness I like, if you add all the liquid then you will have a thinner pancake. I like them more fluffy. I also add a few tablespoons of flax seed and it adds a real hearty flavor. You can mix it up and add blueberries or bananas too. I love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
very wonderful dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I didn't have buttermilk powder so used skim milk powder. I also used corn starch in place of potato starch for the same reason. The pancakes came out thin like crepes but with a touch more body and were delicious. This is a great recipe and thank you for sharing it! The good thing about being thinner is they will cook evenly as long as your stove is level.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KateMorgan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Constance Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
I recently thought I would like to try some GF recipes, to lead a healthier life-style. I also have my in-laws, some nieces, and other family members who have gluten intolerances, so the more GF recipes I master, the more options I have for family get-togethers. I was worried these would not turn out, as they smelled very GF as they were cooking. I was pleasantly surprised with the outcome. My 8 year old daughter declared them the best pancakes she had ever had, my 6 year old son said he didn't like the "bread part", only the M&M's (so obviously he didn't like them.), and my almost 4 year old and 19 month old scarfed them down without complaint. I thought they had a distinct GF taste, but they were pleasantly edible. I only had a GF all purpose blend, so I used that instead of the rice, tapioca flours and corn starch. I didn't have any buttermilk powder, so I used just over 1 C almond milk in place of that and the water. I used 1 T real sugar, and applesauce in place of the canola oil because I do not cook/bake with canola or veggie oil anymore. So thank you for a great recipe! I am hopeful that more of the recipes I want to try will turn out fine and enable me to make the transition to GF. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
These were a surprize. Really good. Not just good for gluten-free. I did add a bit of lemon, cinnamon, and honey and used almond milk which I'd turned into a "buttermilk" by adding a bit of vinegar and lemon for 5 min. The kids and husband asked for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Tasty! There are so many things you can add to them, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by talkn3rdytome

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ann2357
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
We love these gluten free pancakes! I made them dollar size, they seem to cook better. I used 2Tbsp of vinegar with 2 cups of milk rather than the buttermilk powder. I also used 1Tbsp real sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ann2357

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

Rice Flour Pancakes

See how to make 5-star, completely gluten-free pancakes.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States