Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
These are delicious! I'm on a wheat-free diet rignt now, plus I work in natural foods where we get a lot of customers that are gluten-free, so I wanted to try this recipe for them. I substited 2 cups real buttermilk for the powder and water. I also added 1/2 tsp. cinnamon. They tasted really good! The texture is not the same as regular pancakes, we found they were a little mushy. But if you have to do gluten-free, definitely give these a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
substituted almond milk for water & buttermilk; coconut oil for canola oil. Do remember to mix the coconut oil the second you measure it out. Has a tendency to coagulate and it had slipped my mind! These are delicious -- like other comments, I am thinking of serving these to my wheat eating hubby. Halved the recipe - plenty for 2 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
These pancakes are awesome!! Kids love them and beg for more. I did make a few alterations, I didn't have any potato starch so I just added an additional 1/3 cup of the tapioca starch. I used agave nectar in place of the sugar substitute, and I used coconut milk in place of the buttermilk. I added the milk as needed until it was the right consistancy. This one is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
WOW! These ARE delicious - tasted almost like crepes! I sub'd homemade almond milk for the water/buttermilk powder & just added a Tbsp of brown sugar instead of sugar substitute. FANTASTIC recipe that fooled the most anti-GF eater of our family! Thank-you SO MUCH for sharing this...it is a weekly treat for us now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STWALSH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
I sifted all the dry ingredients and added cinnamon and 11/2 teaspoons vanilla extract. Substituted Xylitol for sugar substitute, 2 cups coconut vanilla milk for water and dry buttermilk and added milk to dry ingredients and stirred while mixing eggs etc. This eliminates a lot of the grittiness of gluten free flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Pretty good but I cannot give it a Five since I had to change it to make it better. I agree with another reader who said leave the powder milk out. Instead what I do is mix in some coconut milk for the liquid. This gives it that extra creamy texture without the weight the powder milk seemed to give it. I also add some Watkins Vanilla Nut extract and some sugar. MAKE IT RUNNIER THAN TRADITIONAL PANCAKE MIX AND LET SIT FOR A WHILE. This will take care of any gritty texture that one can get with Gluten Free. I mix the dry ingredients in large batches and then just add the wet ingredients when I am making them but no longer really measure the dry as I go by texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Scicluna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
These were really good! We are dairy free as well, so I substituted rice milk for the buttermilk/water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This is a very good recipe, but I had to modify it. 2 cups of water made the pancakes too thin, almost like crepes. I have to add only one cup of water then gradually add a little water until I get the consistency they way I like it. These pancakes brown well, and taste good. Also this recipe can stand little mistakes and still come out well. I'm not a precise cook so baking can be disasterous, but I've never made a bad batch, even when I mixed up the baking power vs. soda. The other great thing is the batter will last a couple of days in the fridge. Lastly I have a modification I make for special occasions (like PMS), I add 2 TBSP cocoa powder, about 1/2 cup sugar and chocolate chips. Top with your own homemade whipped cream - spectacular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
These are really, really good! I used almond milk instead of buttermilk flour and water for dairy free and added until it reached proper consistency (probably 1.5 cups). I would add a little more sweetener or sugar for a sweeter pancake, but that's to taste. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buenos Aires, Ciudad Autónoma De Buenos Aires, Argentina
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
these pancakes are really really good! we've had a lot of gluten free baking failures and this is not one of them! we've made them 3 times now and my husband even likes them and usually he won't touch anything gluten free. i wish they were more healthful but at least they are yummy. only change we make is to use real sugar or syrup instead of sugar substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

Rice Flour Pancakes

See how to make 5-star, completely gluten-free pancakes.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States