Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Very fluffy & yummy! My daughter can't have cow's milk... so I used 4T of plain goat yogurt, in place of the buttermilk. I also only added 1 1/2 cups of water. Instead of canola oil, I used melted coconut oil... added a great hint of flavor. Be careful that your eggs & yogurt are not to cold to turn the coconut oil to the hardened form. I had to wisk out the hardened coconut & warm it up again. It was a pain, but worked out. They were very delicious... I will definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
these are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
These tasted great & had a really good texture. I used 1/2 c millet flour & 1/2 c brown rice flour. I used potato starch in place of the tapioca flour since I didn't have any on hand (so I used 3 T + 1/3 c of potato starch). I used 1 1/2 c coconut milk + 1T lemon juice instead of the buttermilk powder & water. I used 1/4 c maple syrup as a sweetner. So, um, yeah I guess this was nothing like the original recipe, but this version tasted great! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
AMAZING pancakes! I find buttermilk powder to be quite expensive, so I just use 2 cups of milk and add about 2 tablespoons of fresh lemon juice to create the buttermilk. Definitely a keeper - even my non-celiac family members devour them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Great recipe! I made a few changes. I didn't have dry buttermilk powder, so I used 4 TBS milk plus 2 teaspoons of lemon juice. I used 2 TBS granulated sugar instead of sugar subsittue. I omitted the tapioca powder. Added about 1 1/2 tsp of vanilla flavoring. Since I used milk in this recipe, I decreased the water to 1 1/2 cups. The batter will be a little "runny", but it didn't effect the taste. I will be making these again and freezing them. I will be adding blueberries next batch I make. Try these, you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
These were amazing and a SUPER treat for anyone whether they are coeliac or not. So light and fluffy! My substitutions: As I am allergic to egg I used a gluten free Organ powered egg substitute. In place of the buttermilk and water I used rice milk with a little drop of white vinegar so that the pancake would rise. Instead of the oil I used very finely grated apple and used 1/2 teaspoon or organic unrefined caster sugar instead of the sugar substitute. Before cooking I added blueberries in and when finally done, I poured agave and fresh strawberry sauce ( strawberries pureed with a little water mixed into the sauce, no sugar added). FABULOUS! Thanks for a great recipe for allergy suffers to enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Better than any wheat pancakes I ever made. Fast, simple and delicious...Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blackdiamondmt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by That Girl3
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
Amazing! I'm wheat, sugar, dairy, corn and oat free, so finding yummy things can be occasionally challenging. But this recipe is easy to follow and easy to alter. Instead of a dry sugar sub, I used 1 TBSP agave nectar, and 4 TBSP coconut milk for the dry buttermilk. Used 3 TBSP applesauce instead of oil, and reduced water to 1 cup. My hubby knows I have dietary restrictions, but he said these were so good, that he thought I used a box mix at first-until I started eating them too! ^_^ Thank you for this keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by That Girl3

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Thanks for the great gf recipe! I really enjoyed these pancakes. I think the batter was a little thin. Next time, I'll use less liquid (I used vinegar & milk instead of buttermilk). Besides that, they are great. Just a word of caution to those new to the gf lifestyle - gf will never taste the same as wheat so don't expect it to. But these are very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ginniej

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Somers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
We loved these, I used stevia instead of sugar packet, and clear jel instead of potato starch. They are huge fluffy and great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Rice Flour Pancakes

See how to make 5-star, completely gluten-free pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States