Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Thank you to everyone who takes the time to write reviews. My husband recently decided to try going gluten free to stop the horrible stomach pains he has gone through for the last 5 years. Not having the first clue, I have to rely on reviews and they are all on the mark on this one. We loved these pancakes!!!!! I didn't have potato starch so I had to sub tapioca flour and for the 3 tbsp of tapoica flour I used Bob's Red Mill GF Baking Mix. I used Stevia instead of sugar and reduces the baking powder and soda because I live in a high altitude area. Last, I slowly added the water to where I thought the consistancy looked good and cooked them on a griddle. Perfect, fluffy, yummy pancakes. Thanks to everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
My two teenage sons have celiac disease and have really missed having pancakes. Everything we've tried is almost inedible. These are the best gluten free pancakes we have ever made! I'm not a big fan of reviews that have a ton of substitutions, but I did have to make one substitution as we didn't have any buttermilk powder. Instead of the powder and 2 cups of water, I used 2 cups of milk, mixed in 2 T of lemon juice and let it sit for 5 minutes. The batter came out more watery than normal pancake batter, but my gluten free bread batters are more watery as well so I didn't make any adjustments. I did turn the burner down lower than for normal pancakes to compensate. The pancakes were nicely browned on the outside and light and fluffy on the inside. Amazing! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clifton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
So good! I took the advice of the first reviewer, Aubrey, and they turned out great. Very fluffy and moist and great topped with apple butter :) Easy to make as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Not sure whats going on with the recipe? The middle is gooey no matter what I tried. Medium heat, high heat and even low heat, they come out gooey. I even tried to bake them to see if it were possible, still gooey. I've cooked these about 4 times now. I followed the recipe exactly and its always gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
These are perfect. They taste almost as delicious as my "regular" homemade pancakes. The only change I make is that I use real sugar instead of sweetener. I also find that you want to cook these a little longer than you would "regular" pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Best gluten free pancakes I have tried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
These are wonderful. Very light and fluffy - I have missed my wheat pancakes, but now I am OK! I did substitute coconut flour for the potato flour. I also thinned the dough a bit so they weren't too thick (more water). Otherwise I followed the recipe. I will try potato flour next time to see if they come out as fabulously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I did not care for this recipe. The interior texture is all mushy - no matter how you cook them, even when the exterior is nearly black (I tried this to see if they would improve), they still stay mushy on the inside! What a waste of expensive ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Very fluffy & yummy! My daughter can't have cow's milk... so I used 4T of plain goat yogurt, in place of the buttermilk. I also only added 1 1/2 cups of water. Instead of canola oil, I used melted coconut oil... added a great hint of flavor. Be careful that your eggs & yogurt are not to cold to turn the coconut oil to the hardened form. I had to wisk out the hardened coconut & warm it up again. It was a pain, but worked out. They were very delicious... I will definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
these are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

Chef John's Buckwheat Pancakes

A great pancake with 100% buckwheat flour!

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States