Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Ohs_Moma
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
This is an awesome, if not the best recipe I've tried thus far for gluten-free pancakes. Both my 6 year old son and husband didn't even know they were gluten-free. I did make a few changes: used coconut oil instead of canola, turbinado sugar instead of sugar substitute, 1 and 1/2 cups of non-fat, organic milk instead of 2 cups of water and added 1 tsp of organic, gluten-free vanilla extract. SO GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
My family loves theses pancakes, I replaced the buttermilk powder with 1cup of buttermilk and decreased water to 1 cup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
No matter how much oil I used, it kept sticking to the pan. I can't cook the rest of this batter and wasted so much product. See the photo: the whole thing's a glompy mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Binns

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Really good basis for a recipe. I found it a bit watery and thin with the recipe as described, so I modified it a bit. Instead of 2c of water and buttermilk powder, I used 1 1/3 c of soured milk, and 2/3 c yogurt. I also replaced some of the rice flour with millet flour (1-3 ratio). I also added some vanilla. Finally, I would NEVER use an artificial sweetener, so used a bit of sugar instead - about 1tsp. This time they puffed up to the thickness of regular pancakes! They were indistinguishable from my previous wheat-based recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Too thin and tasteless. I added approx. 1/2 cup oat flour, 2 TB potato starch, 1 TB vanilla and a another pinch of xanthan gum and baking power with agave instead of the sugar substitute packet and they ended up REALLY good. We even added bacon to a few:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
We have been trying gluten-free recipes for about 2 years. This is the FIRST one that REALLY tastes like pancakes. In fact, my teenage son said he liked them better than the other (regular) pancakes! I did make a few changes, real cane sugar for the sugar substitute, coconut oil for the canola and I used soured milk instead of the water and buttermilk powder. Oh, yes and I was out of potato starch and used oat flour instead. I think next time I may try the almond flour that someone else mentioned. Great recipe, that I WILL be SHARING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
This tasted good as gluten free pancakes go, but the batter is way too thin to get fluffy pancakes, tried it with muffin proportions of wet to dry, (1 1/4 cups of milk, also left out the xanthan gum), added 1 tsp of vanilla,turned out pretty good, a little heavy. Looks like regular pancakes too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
This was delicious, although I made a couple of changes. I substituted extra virgin coconut oil for the canola oil. I used low fat regular buttermilk instead of buttermilk powder and water. I added some almond paste (byproduct from making some almond milk).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
I changed a few things to suit my ingredients on hand. I didn't have all of the flours so I just used Bob's Red Mill pre mixed all purpose gluten free flour instead with the same measurement as if you mixed all of them in the recipe above. I also didn't have powdered buttermilk so I skipped water and substituted the same volume of water for a mix of 1 part milk to 2 parts cream and 2 tsps of white vinegar. I also subbed out the canola oil for cinnamon apple sauce and added extra cinnamon. These take longer to cook than wheat flour ones, keep that in mind. My dad didn't notice and really liked them and when I told him they were GF he said, "what is this, witch craft?" Ha ha they were a win in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
I love these. These are by far the best gf pancakes! I make them every other day, even my kids love them. I do make a few changes... I added abut a teaspoon more soda to make them a bit fluffier. I also add one cup of real buttermilk and one cup water....or just until it's the thickness I like, if you add all the liquid then you will have a thinner pancake. I like them more fluffy. I also add a few tablespoons of flax seed and it adds a real hearty flavor. You can mix it up and add blueberries or bananas too. I love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

Rice Flour Pancakes

See how to make 5-star, completely gluten-free pancakes.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States