Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
This is my recipe, and it states 1/4 cup of green onion, but my recipe is only about 2tbs or to your preference. Oh and its a simple recipe, open to add any other things you would like to it if you are a veggie lover. Hope you like
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1014 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wifeyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Susan May
Reviewed: May 22, 2008
Very good! I subbed pickels for the green onion and used dijon mustard. I liked the addition of paprika. Served it on a bun with lettuce, tomato, and a few more pickle planks. Thanks Wifey!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
639 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan May

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
Wonderful recipe starting with a good base that is great "as is" or with additions. The ratio of egg/mayo/mustard are perfect in this. I have had this twice. The first try was just as the recipe states and the second time I added a little celery and dill. Both times were very good! I will be making this again! Thank you for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
562 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
My Mother taught me the secret to great egg salad is to mix the cold mayo with the still hot yolks. This makes a much creamier base to add the rest of the ingredients to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
267 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PEARLMEL1957

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patrick Luce
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
Update: left in the frig for a bit, but I wouldn't suggest this because it got very runny. It was best when I first mixed it up. Still, a great egg salad/spread! I am going to use the filling for deviled eggs for Father's Day. Original review: I wanted a cold salad/spread for sandwiches for lunch today. I chose this one, and my husband said it tasted like his grandmother's egg salad, which is high praise indeed! Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick Luce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
it was ok. i would consider it a base recipe. my egg salad was begging for additions, i.e., celery, red bell peppers, or anything with more flavor and color
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrankieNeedlz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
My original plan was for an egg salad recipe I had chosen that was a little fussier than this. However, after an earlier experience today with a recipe with a more "complicated flavor," I decided to play it safe and go on the basic side with this recipe instead. It IS delicious, taking me back to earlier days and a simpler style of cooking. (For me that would mean waaaay back in the day :) I mean, didn't everyone's mom make egg salad just like this? This is good just as is, but you can doll it up any way you like. For me, that meant adding celery, because for us it just isn't egg salad without it. But in the end, this is an egg salad recipe for what it is - a good, basic, classic, egg salad, and not for all the fussier things it isn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Great egg salad recipe & so easy to make! I made 2 different egg salad recipes to use up the Easter eggs and this one was the definite winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Perfect name - this is delicious egg salad. I used dijon mustard and yellow mustard either way it's great. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Linda
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
I love this with lettuce on sandwiches. (I don't care for paprika so I left it out) You could also add some curry powder to make it very different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 632) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

See how to make a classic egg salad for sandwiches and crackers.

How to Make Egg Salad

See how to make a simple, satisfying egg salad.

Egg Salad I

See how to make an egg salad with lots of tangy mustard and dill weed.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States