Delicious Dog Treats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
I was surprised at how much my dogs seemed to like these, as they are different from the usual treats I make that contain more fresh veggies/fruits and meat flavors. I did omit the white sugar, paprika, and butter. I used 1/3 cup applesauce instead of the butter and I used nonfat dry milk powder instead of liquid milk. Very easy dough to work with and like I said, my dogs really enjoyed them! Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
Easy and my dogs seemed to enjoy them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KTWhite

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Vermont, USA
Living In: White River Junction, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
My puppies love them and can't get enough of them. I made them as Christmas gifts for friends' dogs this year and everyone was telling me how much their dogs loved the cookies. Several people have asked for the recipe. I will say though, with the small bone shaped cookie cutter I have, the recipe makes WAY more than 54 cookies! I have also subsituted chicken broth for water and when I did that, I could barely manage to bake them because I was tripping over both of my dogs and my father in law's dog as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dramaqueenjs

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
My dogs loved them, I was a little worried because I'm not a cook! The recipe was very easy to follow & the ingredients are common.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by micky1121
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Great dog treat recipe. Easy to work with. I posted a photo, but it hasn't been approved yet. I cut the treats with Christmas cookie cutters. I think next ime I'll make them a little thicker and just bake them a little longer. I baked these 30 minutes. That was the perfect time. They are a gift for a friend's dogs. They're cute lil' treats. Thanks for posting the recipe and Merry Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
Omit the sugar, substitute wheat germ. Healthier -- doggies won't miss it. It's owners who like sugar. We skip the fancy shapes too and roll our treats into little balls. They keep very well in the freezer. "Bob" gets one a day and the vet says she rarely sees an 11 year old dog in as good a shape!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
My dog wouldn't leave the countertop area while we were mixing these. Gave them as gifts to people who had dogs and got raves all around along with requests for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
Easy to substitute, dog loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JStoddard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA
Photo by Tracy
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
Toby thinks these are yummy! He's a lab...don't they like everything? We used half wheat flour, half white and about 6 tablespoons extra to give it the right consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Belmont, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
I am making these for Christmas gifts for the family dog! I made a trial batch for my own 3 dogs and they all went cazy for them! I work as a vet tech and of all the recipies I found the ingredients in this one to be the best. I did make a few changes of my own, I exchanged the milk (dairy products often cause digestive upset) for more water and added 1/2 cup of parsley (it helps with dog breath). the parsley gave the treats a festive look without using food coloring that many dogs can be allergic to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Dog Treats

Your dog will love these nutritious treats, which are easy to make.

Super Simple Sweet Potato Dog Treats

Save money making your own dog treats from scratch.

Cajun Spice Mix

See how to make a mildly hot Cajun spice mix…for just about anything!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States