Delicious Christmas Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
These are really great! I'm glad I read the reviews, there are a few pifalls to avoid: 1- wait until the batter hardens a little before you mix in the chocolates 2- spray or grease your cookie sheet. The chocolates don't stick in the batter very well, you have to work it a little to make sure they don't fall off, but it's worth it, this is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2001
I followed this recipe EXACTLY as written, and came out with a paper thin, sticky cookie...that after cooling became a hard disk. If anyone has any clue as to why this happened, or how to alter for fuller, plumper results; I'd like to know. The taste was very good-but presentation for a party platter was a big disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Wonderful recipe...turned out great. But NO WAY could this recipe produce 54 cookies. I doubled the recipe and got 48 delicious cookies. Not big coconut fans in our house, but they taste great, so guess we can no longer say we hate coconut! I found that refrigerating the dough prior to dropping on cookies sheets with a cookie scoop worked wonderfully. No gooey problems at all....just perfecto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRUANT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2001
These are SO easy to make! The crumbs and sweetened milk conceal the coconut taste, so it isn't so overpowering! My son loves them, and he isn't a huge coconut fan! These are on my list to make again, and again, and again......!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I just made these cookies. I wish I had read the reviews before hand. (I usually do). I agree with a lot of the people who mentioned them being very "soupy." I would say they are very "sticky." However the flavor is outstanding. They taste good enough for me to try to make these again. i will put the dough in the fridge and follow all the other comments that were made. Don't give up on this recipe. The flavor is worth making it again. I do have to agree that it isn't a cookie for company. The typical look of a cookie doesn't happen with this one. But it tastes great. I normally don't buy coconut or the sweetened condensed milk, so this won't be an "all the time" cookie. My main problem that I had was trying to get these bad boys off the pan. Will definitely grease the pan even though it says not to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2001
What a great recipe!!!! I substituted fat free sweetened condensed milk which lowered the calories a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
We liked this cookie! I did, as other users suggested, and used more flour. I ended up using 1C. and the dough turned out perfect. I chilled in the fridge for 45 mins, then added the chocolate. I only had about 1C. of M&M's so I also used some white chocolate chips and regular chocolate chips. It added some extra flavor and my kids loved them! I rolled them into balls and baked them. They held the shape perfectly and didn't come out flat at all! Make sure you don't melt the butter, just soften. That is a mistake a lot of people make when baking cookies! I will make these again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joelle B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
These are so yummy! I did't have red & green candies so I subsituted with white chocolate chips (with red/green swirls) I can't stop eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
Once I wasted 3 dozen cookies and figured out what was wrong, they were okay. They spread A LOT, make them small. Also, cool longer than one minute on cookie sheet, then transfer to cooling rack. I used a non stick cooking spray on the pan, they were nearly impossible to remove even after cooling, much easier with the spray, a must. The flavour was good (very sweet as you can imagine) but as mentioned previously, not the nicest cookie to look at, very flat and not puffy like the photo. Wouldn't make them again, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
The dough seemed soupy as mentioned before baking, but the cookies turned out delicious and a bit chewy. The m&m's did not melt at all. They are delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States