Delicious Christmas Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
They're not visually appealing but they taste excellent! I've made about five batches of them now and I've discovered they turn out best when they're very small - no more than a teaspoon each when placed in the oven. They do turn out somewhat flat but the taste makes up for it. Oh, and I use cinammon graham cracker crumbs. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffini_A

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Oceanside, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
OK I was a bit worried after reading the other reviews. I followed some suggestions and I refrigerated the dough for about an hour before baking. The cookies came out great. Very festive and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I just made these cookies. I wish I had read the reviews before hand. (I usually do). I agree with a lot of the people who mentioned them being very "soupy." I would say they are very "sticky." However the flavor is outstanding. They taste good enough for me to try to make these again. i will put the dough in the fridge and follow all the other comments that were made. Don't give up on this recipe. The flavor is worth making it again. I do have to agree that it isn't a cookie for company. The typical look of a cookie doesn't happen with this one. But it tastes great. I normally don't buy coconut or the sweetened condensed milk, so this won't be an "all the time" cookie. My main problem that I had was trying to get these bad boys off the pan. Will definitely grease the pan even though it says not to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
This recipe made some amazing cookies, the dough was not soupy at all as other reviews said. They baked up perfectly crispy and chewy all at the same time. I agree with placing the dough in the fridge for a few minutes so it's not as sticky. I did not have the colored chocolates so I used chocolate chips however they again are some of the best cookies I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Detria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Wonderful recipe...turned out great. But NO WAY could this recipe produce 54 cookies. I doubled the recipe and got 48 delicious cookies. Not big coconut fans in our house, but they taste great, so guess we can no longer say we hate coconut! I found that refrigerating the dough prior to dropping on cookies sheets with a cookie scoop worked wonderfully. No gooey problems at all....just perfecto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRUANT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
My husband loves these cookies. He told me these are the ones he remembers every year. They're interesting with coconut and chocolate... very gooey and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cherokee, Iowa, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
These are really great! I'm glad I read the reviews, there are a few pifalls to avoid: 1- wait until the batter hardens a little before you mix in the chocolates 2- spray or grease your cookie sheet. The chocolates don't stick in the batter very well, you have to work it a little to make sure they don't fall off, but it's worth it, this is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
These are so yummy! I did't have red & green candies so I subsituted with white chocolate chips (with red/green swirls) I can't stop eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
Once I wasted 3 dozen cookies and figured out what was wrong, they were okay. They spread A LOT, make them small. Also, cool longer than one minute on cookie sheet, then transfer to cooling rack. I used a non stick cooking spray on the pan, they were nearly impossible to remove even after cooling, much easier with the spray, a must. The flavour was good (very sweet as you can imagine) but as mentioned previously, not the nicest cookie to look at, very flat and not puffy like the photo. Wouldn't make them again, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
The dough seemed soupy as mentioned before baking, but the cookies turned out delicious and a bit chewy. The m&m's did not melt at all. They are delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States