Delicious Chocolate Cornflake Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
My mom and I have been making these since I was about three. I love these "nests" as we called them. Just a note to a few people: Golden Syrup is NOT the same thing as honey. You can buy Golden Syrup at Bristol Farms or at British Stores. Anyway, these are the best tasting cakes especially at Easter. I recommend putting Cadbury Chocolate mini eggs on top to make them nests. You can buy mini-eggs at Ralphs any time around Easter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chiswick, Greater London, England, U.K.
Living In: Rancho Palos Verdes, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
I'M GONNA STICK TO THIS RECIPE MY WHOLE LIFE IT'S THE MOST DELICIOUS AND OUTRAGEOUS I LOVED IT ESPECIALY FOR A TEENAGER LIKE ME BUT INSTEAD OF ADDING DARK CHOCOLATE I ADDED MILK CHOCOLATE IT DOES'NT DIFFER IT'S JUST SWEETER AND I ALSO ADDED GOLDEN AND CORN SYRUP WHICH WILL CHANGE THE CONSISTINCY TO A CONSISTINCY WHICH MAY APPEAR LIKE YOU'VE ADDED MARSHMALLOW TO IT WHICH IS GREAT TO ADD IN AS WELL AS RAISINS. ADDING THE GOLDEN AND CORN SYRUP MAKES IT FUDGY WHEN IT SETS! THANKYOU FOR THIS WODERFULL DELIGHT AND WHEN I TRAVEL THIS TUESDAY I AM DEFENETLY GOING TO MAKE THIS FOR MY FAMILY. SO THANKYOU AGAIN FOR SHARING THIS RECIPE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by young chef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cardamum
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
Yum! I was going to give this 4 stars, but I'm giving a bonus star for this quick, easy recipe of ingredients I had on hand...you saved me from having to resort to eating chocolate chips out of the bag! I used mini chocolate chips, and they melted really well. Also, as a previous review mentioned, I had no idea what golden syrup was so I used corn syrup (thanks previous reviewer!). I've since looked up golden syrup, and apparantly it's a syrup similar in taste and appearance to honey. It can be used as a substitute for either honey or corn syrup. In the future, I may try this recipe with honey instead...that might add an interesting flavor, and be closer to the taste of the original recipe using golden syrup. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cardamum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
These are awesome and so easy to make. Golden Syrup isn't too hard to find. Any grocery store should have it. I scoop the warm flake mixture into a 1/4 cup measuring up and flip them over on my baking sheet. Then they're all the same size. You can get 9 scoops out of it that way. Try it this way too (for those who like peanutbutter and chocolate!) instead of the 3 &1/2 tbl of butter use one tablespoon of butter and 3 to 4 table spoons of peanutbutter (i like to use Adam's creamy). Just put it all in a pan and let it melt together. YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
I just wanted to tell you all that Golden Syrup is GOLDEN EAGLE syrup. It is golden and can be found in the syrup isle of any grocery syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
Easy, yummy and gluten-free. I didn't know what 'golden syrup' was, so I used corn syrup and got great results :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEGYEAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sewickley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Moon Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2005
I tasted these while they were still hot and I wasn't too impressed... but after they were refrigerated for a while, I couldn't stop eating them! They're more like candies than cakes, but very easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
My 10 yr daughter made these with a little supervision and they are very tasty. We made them with Total cornflakes for the extra vitamins. Next time we are going to double the recipe and press them in a pan like rice krispie treats. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
These are so yummy! I love the chewy texture. I used corn syrup (couldn't find golden syrup) and 1/2 milk chocolate chips, 1/2 semi-sweet chips. Delicious! Simple and fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
So very simple!! I put a few in each tin that I gave away to family members for Christmas and they were a hit! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States