Delicious Chocolate Cornflake Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I also didnt have the golden syrup and actually tried honey as a substitute and had to use a little less for it to taste right. I also had to substitute the cornflakes with rice crispies. As you can tell this was a late night craving and I didnt want to run out to the store but it turned out absolutely wonderuful, next time i'm also going to try adding peanut butter to try something a little different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Yummy!!! This was sooo quick and easy to make. I only had milk chocolate buttons in my cupboard, so used less and added some cocoa powder too. Turned out great. I "set" the mixture in little cupcake liners which made them very cute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
I'M GONNA STICK TO THIS RECIPE MY WHOLE LIFE IT'S THE MOST DELICIOUS AND OUTRAGEOUS I LOVED IT ESPECIALY FOR A TEENAGER LIKE ME BUT INSTEAD OF ADDING DARK CHOCOLATE I ADDED MILK CHOCOLATE IT DOES'NT DIFFER IT'S JUST SWEETER AND I ALSO ADDED GOLDEN AND CORN SYRUP WHICH WILL CHANGE THE CONSISTINCY TO A CONSISTINCY WHICH MAY APPEAR LIKE YOU'VE ADDED MARSHMALLOW TO IT WHICH IS GREAT TO ADD IN AS WELL AS RAISINS. ADDING THE GOLDEN AND CORN SYRUP MAKES IT FUDGY WHEN IT SETS! THANKYOU FOR THIS WODERFULL DELIGHT AND WHEN I TRAVEL THIS TUESDAY I AM DEFENETLY GOING TO MAKE THIS FOR MY FAMILY. SO THANKYOU AGAIN FOR SHARING THIS RECIPE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by young chef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
These were okay... I think they would be much better with marshmallows or something added in. They simply tasted like a bowl of cornflakes with chocolate syrup drizzled over - probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
Just like the ones I had as a child. My son and his friends scoffed them quickly! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sue

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
This is the best version of this recipe I've found. The chewiness is just right, especially if eaten straight from the refrigerator. The taste will only be as good as the chocolate you use, and I've found 70% cocoa solids chocolate to be ideal. Yesterday, I used it as the basis of a different recipe, substituting Coco Pops (a chocolate flavoured rice cereal) for the cornflakes, and adding a small handful of raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
I remember having this a child and I loved it, but the chocolate was a little too bitter for me. I will make this again but with some adjustments to the chocolate mixture, maybe some vanilla? Other than the chocolate taste, I still ate the whole pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
Great stuff. I was amazed they stayed crispy for days. They have to be kept refrigerated tho. I will definately make again but with way less butter. Hopefully then i can keep them at room temerature for longer than 1 minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Delft, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
So very simple!! I put a few in each tin that I gave away to family members for Christmas and they were a hit! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
this recipe was very easy to follow. but I did have to add some extra chocolate and corn syrup to get it to stick together more. although, in retrospect, it probably would have set up okay without the extra chocolate. these cookies have a wonderful texture, but I think I will use milk chocolate instead of semisweet, because I would prefer them to be sweeter. this is probably half-due to my own error as well, though, because I added a small pinch of salt. in conclusion, they were good, but they didn't strike my fancy. God bless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States