Delicious Chocolate Cornflake Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
Easy, yummy and gluten-free. I didn't know what 'golden syrup' was, so I used corn syrup and got great results :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEGYEAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sewickley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Moon Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
These are awesome and so easy to make. Golden Syrup isn't too hard to find. Any grocery store should have it. I scoop the warm flake mixture into a 1/4 cup measuring up and flip them over on my baking sheet. Then they're all the same size. You can get 9 scoops out of it that way. Try it this way too (for those who like peanutbutter and chocolate!) instead of the 3 &1/2 tbl of butter use one tablespoon of butter and 3 to 4 table spoons of peanutbutter (i like to use Adam's creamy). Just put it all in a pan and let it melt together. YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cardamum
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
Yum! I was going to give this 4 stars, but I'm giving a bonus star for this quick, easy recipe of ingredients I had on hand...you saved me from having to resort to eating chocolate chips out of the bag! I used mini chocolate chips, and they melted really well. Also, as a previous review mentioned, I had no idea what golden syrup was so I used corn syrup (thanks previous reviewer!). I've since looked up golden syrup, and apparantly it's a syrup similar in taste and appearance to honey. It can be used as a substitute for either honey or corn syrup. In the future, I may try this recipe with honey instead...that might add an interesting flavor, and be closer to the taste of the original recipe using golden syrup. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cardamum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
I just wanted to tell you all that Golden Syrup is GOLDEN EAGLE syrup. It is golden and can be found in the syrup isle of any grocery syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
My mom and I have been making these since I was about three. I love these "nests" as we called them. Just a note to a few people: Golden Syrup is NOT the same thing as honey. You can buy Golden Syrup at Bristol Farms or at British Stores. Anyway, these are the best tasting cakes especially at Easter. I recommend putting Cadbury Chocolate mini eggs on top to make them nests. You can buy mini-eggs at Ralphs any time around Easter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chiswick, Greater London, England, U.K.
Living In: Rancho Palos Verdes, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2005
I tasted these while they were still hot and I wasn't too impressed... but after they were refrigerated for a while, I couldn't stop eating them! They're more like candies than cakes, but very easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
So very simple!! I put a few in each tin that I gave away to family members for Christmas and they were a hit! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
made these using some 'store brand'cornflakes i had leftover that no one seemed to eat. They were gone overnight ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
OH MY GOSH!! I remember having these at the neighborhood christmas party when I was a little kid! I LOVED THEM!! Only the woman who made them used green chocolate melts and would sort of shape them to look like a holly leaf (kinda)and add a cinnamon candy (red hot) to the center for holly berries. Thank you for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reb&Rob

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Williamson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
Thank you, I have been craving these since I left home! I have been using your recipe for a couple of years now. In Ireland we call it Chocolate Cracknel (sometimes spelled Cracknell/Kracknell). When I was a kid, we would get Chocolate Cracknel as the dessert in school dinners at least once a week. The dinner ladies would make it in big large 13x9" trays, and they would cut them into squares and pour hot English custard over it with a scoop of ice-cream. Because it is my biggest pot, I use my pressure cooker (with the lid off) on very low to melt the chocolate, butter and golden syrup (Karo syrup is the best US substitute), stirring with a wooden spoon. Once totally melted I take my pressure cooker pot off the heat and add the cornflakes and mix in the cornflakes. Using one pot to melt the chocolate etc and mix the cornflakes saves washing more dishes. I use the 15 serving version of this recipe and put it in a 8 or 9" pie dish and cut into triangles or put it in a 8 or 9 " square pan and cut into squares. For my little one, I take a 2 teaspoon mini ice-cream scoop and scoop them into mini paper muffin cups. Once cooled Chocolate Cracknel (if well hidden) can stay fresh in a sealed tin, up to 2 weeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States