Delicious Chickpea Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
Very flavorful. Sweet, but not too sweet. The combination of spices and flavors was new and interesting. It was a little on the hot side which I like, but if you don't, you might want to use less ceyenne pepper. Relative to other middle eastern/indian dishes it was fairly easy to make. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeffrey East

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Okeechobee, Florida, USA
Living In: Mill Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommymeggy
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
I left out the cilantro because I personally don't care for it but this recipe isn't missing a thing without it. Mine took more like an hour and a half of simmering to really get the flavors infused; I even chopped the yam and pear in the food processor to speed the process. Served w/ pita bread as I didn't have time to bake naan, but will do so next time. Delicious and so good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
I only had one can of chickpeas so I added a cup of TVP which turned out fine. It wasn't like other curries I've had which were more like a thick sauce. This was more of just a bunch of spicy veggies. I'm nore sure how I liked the raisins in this, and if you don't like hot heat cut down on the cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
This was super tasty! Even my meat-eating family enjoyed it. I made coconut rice to go with it, which balanced the flavors very nicely. I used chicken broth instead of the veggie bullion and used 1/2 tsp of ground cinnamon instead of the sticks. I also added some cubed potatoes and summer squash. The flavor was mild, but still very tasty. I think next time I will add more cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
I substituted black currants for the raisins. My wife found it to be too hot with the spices added as directed. I liked the heat, though a bit less cayenne might have enabled some of the other interesting flavors to emerge more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
Delicious!! I kept the cayenne amount as listed, and thought it was just the right amount of spiciness. I added some cashews to the recipe as well. I will definitely be making this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
Really yummy. I used dried black currants instead of raisins. I also halved the cayenne, but I don't think it needed to be halved. It wasn't too hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
Like it says, delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
Fabulous recipe. I cut the cayenne by half and that was plenty. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
This is a fantastic curry. I didn't change a thing, and wouldn't want to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jefferson, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Boone, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Vegetarian Chickpea Sandwich Filling

This quick-and-easy sandwich spread is a great alternative to tuna salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States