Delicious Chickpea Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
So flavorful but just a tad too spicy with that much cayenne . . . and my family likes things spicy. Still, it's a 5-star recipe. And it feels good eating something so healthy that even the kids will gobble up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
mmm.. this was SO good! The cilantro at the end really helped round out the flavor, and the sweetness of the pears and raisins really went well with the spiciness of the dish. We ate it with onion nan and brown rice. definitely a recipe I will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Made this last night for dinner and it was spectacular. The aroma it fills the house with is incredible. I tend to play with the recipes, but this is perfect as is. Tonight I added chicken breast to the dish, and it was fabulous served with naan. Don't be afraid of the ingredients, they meld perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
for my first attempt at indian food, i thought this was amazing. next time i might cut down on the ginger, it seemed a little strong to me. i did cut down a bit on the cayenne and the spiciness was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crockpotpirate

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
Seriously good! I cubed butternut squash and yukon gold potatoes instead of the yams. (only cause I used what I had) I just added minced garlic to the pot and minused the ginger altogether. Usually not a fan of cinnamon, but it works in this recipe. Also substituted golden raisins for the regular ones...(my husband eats them like candy.) Deelish :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winter Park, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
Like everyone else says, this recipe is time-consuming but delicious. It is worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
delicious! i used ginger powder, and reduced the raisins to 1/3c. I will add a little more next time. I reduced the cayanne to 1/2stp, but it was still over powering. I like spice, but the sweet got covered up a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPUNKYSIMONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hammond, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
I really liked the complexity of flavours that the cinnammon ginger and pear brought to the dish, however I found that 1 cup of raisins was too much, and the sweet "raisinee" taste started annoying me 1/2 way through a serving. I think next time I would cut it back to 1/2cup to 3/4 at the most
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
For the next few days, I'm on an elimination diet(Doctor's orders). That means I can't eat virtually anything. Somehow, this dish is alright for me to eat. Wow! I can't believe how great it tastes. I've never had a chickpea dish with flavors this rich -- and without any fatty coconut milk. My substitutions: I used a lot (roughly 2T) of garam masala instead of the spices listed here, since it's a comparable blend, and dried cranberries for half of the raisins (didn't seem to make much a difference). -- yum! Next time, I might double the sweet potato or even add butternut squash. So tasty and fragrant -- My boyfriend said it smells like Christmas in here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHOOCHOOMCYUMMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
Delicious. I followed exactly as submitted. Very nice blend of sweet and spicy. I think I'll use potatoes instead of a yam the next time to give it a little more balance. I served with naan, also from this site. fantastic combo. i'll definitely make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Vegetarian Chickpea Sandwich Filling

This quick-and-easy sandwich spread is a great alternative to tuna salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States