Delicious Chickpea Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
No yams or pears in the house, so I made it with an apple and cut the recipe in half. Due to other reviews, I cut the cayenne in 1/4 and it was plenty spicy for a Midwestern palate. Looked great and tasted better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Really great flavor! Cooked the beans in my pressure cooker and then followed the directions (pretty darn closely for me!) Great flavor - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Awesome! I used 1/2 tsp of cayenne, but otherwise followed the recipe. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
This was fine, but I was underwhelmed compared to all the glowing reviews. Not sure if I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
This was on the sweet side but I tempered it by putting it over brown rice. Nice blend of flavors. Would pair it with a meat that would have simple spices or it would be a poor match in competing tastes. I did use half of the cayenne after reading the reviews but I might add the other half in when reheating today. We love yams and this was a nice, new and interesting way to serve them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Loved the recipe! Although, I did not have bouillons with me. Instead, I put a teaspoon of Curry powder and a teaspoon of Mustard powder and it turned out pretty awesome! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
I didn't have ginger nor cloves, substituted paprika for cayenne and sprinkled cinnamon instead of using cinnamon sticks. I also used a large sweet potato instead of a yam. With these changes, it is good but a little too sweet, even after adding salt, and I had cut down on the raisins. I used jarred chickpeas so only simmered for 30 minutes. Next time, I'll use a little less water, because it's a little watery, a sprinkle of red pepper flakes, and try a regular potato to balance the sweetness. I also suggest serving over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
I always double or triple this recipe and have made it many times. I played with the cayenne the first few times and no matter how little I put in, I just am not a fan of cayenne and so now I just leave it out. All the flavour without any heat which is the way I like it. This recipe stands up to freezing and reheating very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Excellent recipe. I took about a cup of the mixture and put it in the blender to thicken the dish. Otherwise followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keshia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Yum! Went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Vegetarian Chickpea Sandwich Filling

This quick-and-easy sandwich spread is a great alternative to tuna salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States