Delicious Chickpea Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Really great flavor! Cooked the beans in my pressure cooker and then followed the directions (pretty darn closely for me!) Great flavor - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Awesome! I used 1/2 tsp of cayenne, but otherwise followed the recipe. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
This was fine, but I was underwhelmed compared to all the glowing reviews. Not sure if I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
This was on the sweet side but I tempered it by putting it over brown rice. Nice blend of flavors. Would pair it with a meat that would have simple spices or it would be a poor match in competing tastes. I did use half of the cayenne after reading the reviews but I might add the other half in when reheating today. We love yams and this was a nice, new and interesting way to serve them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Loved the recipe! Although, I did not have bouillons with me. Instead, I put a teaspoon of Curry powder and a teaspoon of Mustard powder and it turned out pretty awesome! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
I didn't have ginger nor cloves, substituted paprika for cayenne and sprinkled cinnamon instead of using cinnamon sticks. I also used a large sweet potato instead of a yam. With these changes, it is good but a little too sweet, even after adding salt, and I had cut down on the raisins. I used jarred chickpeas so only simmered for 30 minutes. Next time, I'll use a little less water, because it's a little watery, a sprinkle of red pepper flakes, and try a regular potato to balance the sweetness. I also suggest serving over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
I always double or triple this recipe and have made it many times. I played with the cayenne the first few times and no matter how little I put in, I just am not a fan of cayenne and so now I just leave it out. All the flavour without any heat which is the way I like it. This recipe stands up to freezing and reheating very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Excellent recipe. I took about a cup of the mixture and put it in the blender to thicken the dish. Otherwise followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keshia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Yum! Went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Really yummy! I threw in a cup or so of cooked white Northern beans that I had in the freezer, because I didn't have quite enough chick peas; & I omitted the coriander, because I didn't have any. Didn't matter at all -- this turned out absolutely scrumptious! What a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Vegetarian Chickpea Sandwich Filling

This quick-and-easy sandwich spread is a great alternative to tuna salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States