Delicious Chicken Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I made this casserole for the very first time and it was a huge success!!! It came out deliciously. I just didn't use the recipe exactly as it was written. I what I did do was steal some of the other peoples' ideas I saw in their reviews (thank you all). Instead of boiling the rice in water, I boiled it in chicken broth. I saw quite a few people wrote that they used broccoli instead of celery sticks, so I used that and finally, instead of using buttery round crackers, I used Ritz crackers. Wow - it was great!!! So many of you had some wonderful, creative ideas. I will definitely try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Great & versatile recipe. I made some changes to make it easier & cheaper for us: used leftover rotisserie chicken, doubled the rice (I used instant, uncooked rice and just added extra broth), omitted the celery salt, added some chopped, cooked celery, and only used 1/4 cup butter. Everyone raved. Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
This was great, I love recipes that end up in one pot! It was quite hearty and a good meal for a cool evening. I did change a few things according to my tastes: Omitted: Celery, butter for the cracker top (used crackers only) Swapped: Water for organic low sodium chicken broth to cover the chicken while cooking, 1 cup of rice for 3 cups brown rice, regular sour cream for light Added: Frozen broccoli florets (cut the cook time in half since it would be baked after so they wouldn't get mushy), 1 cup of shredded cheddar plus a bit to sprinkle o top, added a bit of parmesan cheese, more spices
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I love this, but I'm sorry to say that I have never made it exactly as written. I always use one can cream of mushroom, and one of chicken. I never make chicken specially for this. I always use leftover chicken. I really think the extra spices in roast chicken help prevent this casserole from being bland. You just can't beat if for being economical and using up ingredients on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I really like saucy casseroles, so this was definitely for me. I was happy with the amount of liquid, and I like this chicken-to-rice ratio too. I really think this is a personal taste. My personal touches: I sauteed raw celery, onion and garlic and did not use powder or flakes. I made my own cream-of variants by starting with a simple bechamel, and I also added 1/3 cup of white wine to the sauce. If i could recommend anything, it would be that white wine. It really adds a lot to this creamy sauce. If you do that, I do not recommend adding cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by icountbeans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Good comfy food. Made it with cream of onion. The rice is one cup before cooking the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dot's Calm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Good and hearty. No complaints!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Jackson, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Yum! My kids who are picky eaters loved it. The only thing I added was some cooked carrots and some peas to get some veggies in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Very good casserole, I will make this again. I did modify this recipie a bit... 2 things. First I made extra rice, about 2-3 cups total, mixed 1 cup in the mixture as per the recipie, then spread the remaining in the bottom of the casserole dish. Then I made a package of "steam fresh" frozen veggies in the microwave and spread those on top of the rice. Then layered the chicken mixture over that and topped w/ the cracker topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This turned out delicious! My kids had at least two helpings each! I made a few small changes. I was out of celery so I used celery salt and celery seed when boiling the chicken. I shredded the chicken instead of cubing it. I used two cups of rice instead of one. I used cream of mushroom soup instead of cream of chicken. I added about 6 ounces of frozen broccoli and about a cup of shredded cheddar cheese when mixing the rice, soup, broth... etc. I added a sprinkling of seasoning salt on top of the mixture just before baking. Lastly, I omitted the cracker crust. Ok, that was more than a few, but it was definitely a crowd pleaser and a new family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 390) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States