Delicious Chicken Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
First off let me say this is a great base casserole. That being said I gave it 4 stars as for our tastes I needed to do quite a bit of tweaking to it. First, I chopped 1/2 cup of onion and celery and cooked those in 2 Tbsp. butter until tender. I added these to the soup mixture. I interpreted the recipe to actually call for 1 cup uncooked rice, meaning I actually used 2 cups of cooked rice. I omitted the onion powder and added about 1 tsp. poultry seasoning which really helped the taste a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Tried this recipe for a Sunday dinner. Very tasty. Made it just as the recipe stated and added a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I just made this recipe yesterday for today's potluck. I cut up the chicken into chunks because I was serving it to a group and that works better than whole breasts. This is the third recipe very similar to this that I've tried. The first was way too bland and I've been stepping up the flavors on subsequent efforts. My changes: I used the 3 cups cooked rice that the original submitter said was really needed (later correction), added about 1/8 cup finely minced onion and 1/8 cup chopped red bell pepper, left out the onion powder, used one can celery and one can cream of chicken soup, and added about 2 ounces of green peas. My observations: The peas and bell pepper added to the attractiveness of the dish and I found it much tastier than previous versions. On the downside, I had half of it left and I think it was mostly because it still lacks pizzazz on a potluck table; also, it could have still had more flavor. I think it's worth sticking with, but future tries will include more green peas, slightly cooked carrots, about 1/2 cup finely chopped onion and more bell pepper. Also, my rice was a bit too sticky and I will try to find a rice that stays looser. All in all, I thought it was a good tasting dish and my leftovers won't go to waste, but I want to continue to refine it a bit. Many thanks to the person who submitted it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
I agree with other reviewers. This is a bit runny. It is however a good base recipe. There are so many things you can do with it. Next time I will definitely modify it. I will also add veggies for a one dish meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber McNeece Yates

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saucier, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
Easy- and you can modify as you like. I added one extra can do cream of chix and omitted the chix broth- I also added red pepper for a kick and it was very good. Highly recommend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
after i made this and it cooled off i thought it was a bit salty. still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
I tried this recipe as written and thought it was just "ok". I think it's a great base, but was lacking..something? I did, however, enjoy the homemade broth. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I made this casserole for the very first time and it was a huge success!!! It came out deliciously. I just didn't use the recipe exactly as it was written. I what I did do was steal some of the other peoples' ideas I saw in their reviews (thank you all). Instead of boiling the rice in water, I boiled it in chicken broth. I saw quite a few people wrote that they used broccoli instead of celery sticks, so I used that and finally, instead of using buttery round crackers, I used Ritz crackers. Wow - it was great!!! So many of you had some wonderful, creative ideas. I will definitely try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Great & versatile recipe. I made some changes to make it easier & cheaper for us: used leftover rotisserie chicken, doubled the rice (I used instant, uncooked rice and just added extra broth), omitted the celery salt, added some chopped, cooked celery, and only used 1/4 cup butter. Everyone raved. Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 388) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States