Delicious Chicken Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
Easy- and you can modify as you like. I added one extra can do cream of chix and omitted the chix broth- I also added red pepper for a kick and it was very good. Highly recommend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
after i made this and it cooled off i thought it was a bit salty. still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
I tried this recipe as written and thought it was just "ok". I think it's a great base, but was lacking..something? I did, however, enjoy the homemade broth. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I made this casserole for the very first time and it was a huge success!!! It came out deliciously. I just didn't use the recipe exactly as it was written. I what I did do was steal some of the other peoples' ideas I saw in their reviews (thank you all). Instead of boiling the rice in water, I boiled it in chicken broth. I saw quite a few people wrote that they used broccoli instead of celery sticks, so I used that and finally, instead of using buttery round crackers, I used Ritz crackers. Wow - it was great!!! So many of you had some wonderful, creative ideas. I will definitely try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Great & versatile recipe. I made some changes to make it easier & cheaper for us: used leftover rotisserie chicken, doubled the rice (I used instant, uncooked rice and just added extra broth), omitted the celery salt, added some chopped, cooked celery, and only used 1/4 cup butter. Everyone raved. Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
This was great, I love recipes that end up in one pot! It was quite hearty and a good meal for a cool evening. I did change a few things according to my tastes: Omitted: Celery, butter for the cracker top (used crackers only) Swapped: Water for organic low sodium chicken broth to cover the chicken while cooking, 1 cup of rice for 3 cups brown rice, regular sour cream for light Added: Frozen broccoli florets (cut the cook time in half since it would be baked after so they wouldn't get mushy), 1 cup of shredded cheddar plus a bit to sprinkle o top, added a bit of parmesan cheese, more spices
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I love this, but I'm sorry to say that I have never made it exactly as written. I always use one can cream of mushroom, and one of chicken. I never make chicken specially for this. I always use leftover chicken. I really think the extra spices in roast chicken help prevent this casserole from being bland. You just can't beat if for being economical and using up ingredients on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I really like saucy casseroles, so this was definitely for me. I was happy with the amount of liquid, and I like this chicken-to-rice ratio too. I really think this is a personal taste. My personal touches: I sauteed raw celery, onion and garlic and did not use powder or flakes. I made my own cream-of variants by starting with a simple bechamel, and I also added 1/3 cup of white wine to the sauce. If i could recommend anything, it would be that white wine. It really adds a lot to this creamy sauce. If you do that, I do not recommend adding cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by icountbeans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Good comfy food. Made it with cream of onion. The rice is one cup before cooking the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dot's Calm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Good and hearty. No complaints!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Jackson, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 383) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States