Delicious Chicken Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I made this recipe yesterday. I incorporated many of the suggestions in the reviews. I used 3 large boneless skinless ckn breasts, 3 stalks of celery, added no salt1/4 t black pepper, 6 oz. of fat free sour cream. 1 can 98% fat free cream of chicken soup, 1 can of 98% fat free cream of celery soup, 1/2 t celerysalt, 1 t minced onion, 1/2 t garlic powder, I also added 1 t herbs de Provence, and decreased butter to 1/4 C butter. The casserole tasted pretty good last nite. Tonight it was so much better. I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
We love this casserole! I tweak it a bit by adding sliced water chestnuts and mushrooms for added crunch and flavor! The buttery topping makes this awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Super yummy!This recipe is a new family favorite!Brought this without testing it first to a friend who just had a baby & it got rave reviews from them.The next night I made it for my own family and we all loved it, including my ridiculously picky 12 yr. old. I did not add the celery when simmering the chicken as I didn't have any on hand. It didn't make a difference! I also skipped the celery salt since I didn't have that, either. It doesn't need it anyways...there's enough salt in everything else. I also added about 1 1/2 - 2 c. of shredded cheddar cheese to the soup & sour cream mixture and two things FOR SURE, you'll need to increase the rice (I used about 3 1/2 cups of cooked jasmine)and DON"T SKIP the buttery cracker topping, it's heavenly. Don't substitute with saltines, either...they would be too bland. For my friends I added some frozen peas that I partially cooked before adding to the dish. Would be great also w/broccoli or peas & carrots or even corn, each of which I'll try in the future. Such an awesome base recipe! Thanks for sharing it! :-) Enjoy this one, folks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Brighton, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Needed a lot more rice added
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Loved this recipe followed the instructions added 1 cup cheddar cheese and 1 head of cauliflower we devoured every crumb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
This is my favorite casserole to bake.I make my own adjustments to fit my taste like to double what the recipe asks for on the rice and crackers. The cracker topping is my favorite part! I also use boneless chicken breasts, but boiling them and using the broth does make a difference. Hands down the best and easiest casserole to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
This is good. I hate to make a recipe without trying it as is first, but I did feel it needed some veggies added and some other things changed. I didn't make broth, used a rotisserie chicken and 2 cups of brown rice. I sauteed carrots, celery, onions and mushrooms and added them for texture and flavor. I added a little more sour cream, a half cup of water and a jar of chicken gravy I had on hand because I didn't have the soup. Instead of crackers I used panko and a little less butter. It turned out well. The brown rice is the key because it will hold up better. I still had some nice texture on the rice after baking 35 minutes. It's a great way to sneak in brown rice to your family. You'll never be able to tell with all the creamy sauce on top. I'll try it again with cheese next time. This is a great starter recipe and does well with add ins. The basic recipe is the same so I'll still give it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
My family loves this recipe. I used light or low sodium ingredients whenever possible and it tasted just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Soooo yummy and comforting! Easy to please everyone with this casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
I also skipped the broth-making step. I added a small bag of cooked frozen broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 390) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States