Delicious Black Bean Burritos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2004
These were amazing, we cooked them up for Cinco de Mayo, and my fiance won't stop talking about how good they were. I doubled the batch and made a few changes and added: 1/2 t. cumin and 1/2 t. chili powder, a can of diced green chiles, 2/3 c. frozen corn kernels, 8 oz. cream cheese, a can of Rotel diced tomatos and green chiles and upped the garlic to 3 t. I served them with shredded cheddar cheese and they were out of this world. The diced tomatos added moisture--I noticed people had complained about these being too dry. They turned out perfect! This one will be a regular at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
721 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
This recipe is basically very good, but I only give it 3 stars because I had to change it for my taste. I didn't have the jalapenos so I skipped those. I really don't like cilantro so I left that out. I minced FRESH garlic myself for this recipe, and added chili powder as another reviewer suggested. The black bean, cream cheese, onion and pepper mixture was very attractive and appetizing, but I found it needed quite a bit more salt than called for. I added a little rice to each burrito, to make it more filling, and put a few teaspoons of medium chunky salsa in each as well. I doubled everything in the recipe and made six burritos to freeze for my husband's lunches. With the addition of the rice it would have stretched to about 10 burritos, but I followed another reviewers advice and saved some of the bean mixture for a dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
423 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2002
All of the reviews are right - these burritos are awesome. The recipe indicates that it makes two big burritos, but they would have to be huge. We usually get four burritos, using regular "burrito size" tortillas. The filling reheats well the next day too. Great flavor and excellent source of fiber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
316 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2002
These weren't the best burritos I have ever had, but they were sure good. They froze well and tasted very good. I recommend wrapping them in a damp papertowel when you reheat them in the microwave...they'll come out tasting fresh again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraKKH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: White Stone, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I doubled the recipe, added a can of green chiles and some cumin. Put the burritos in the oven to melt some cheese on top and then served with salsa on top...yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2003
Very good. I covered the burritos in pepper jack cheese and baked in the oven for 5 min. They are delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2002
My boyfriend and I love this recipe! I changed it a little. I boiled and shredded some chiken and added it in at the last minute. It was excellent. I also bought a box of Uncle Ben's Mexican style rice and added some of that into the burrito also. Needless to say it was gone in no time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
THE BEST!! Cut back on the onions and cilantro a bit, but left everything else as suggested. Seriously the best burritos EVER! Also, you just have to microwave the tortillas for 30 seconds. The oven just kept making them hard and unrollable. FIVE STARS :D!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dix Hills, New York, USA
Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2003
These made a quick and healthy for me today..and they are quite tasty! I too love black beans, cilanto and cheese and they are great together as a burrito filling. Instead of chopped garlic, I sprinkled in some granulated garlic, (approx 1/2 tsp.) and only used about 1/2 the amount of cream cheese called for. I used refried black beans since that's what I had on hand and added a handful of blended italian cheese since I had some in the fridge. I zapped my tortillas in the microwave...was too lazy to use the oven. I really enjoyed these with a tall glass of diet coke... (i'm sure someone has enjoyed this with a beer or two..hehe). Thanks jessie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Myrrhmaid
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Five stars for this one! It's easy and delicious, and we'll definitely make this again. Satisfying to both vegetarians (me) and omnivores (hubby). The only change that we made was to warm 4 tortillas instead of 2, making 2 smaller burritos for each of us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Myrrhmaid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States