Delicious Black Bean Burritos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2015
Very good recipe! I doubled it, and we made a number of smaller-size burritos out of it. We have a Mexican grocer that makes fresh tortillas, but they didn't have any of the 10-inch size. Fresh, soft tortillas really added to things! This was very easy and quick to make. I loved the nonfussy prep. I chopped the onions and bell pepper in a chop wizard, which made it take under a minute. Diced the jalapeno and garlic, but still, very quick prep. I did think that it needed a bit more kick than just the salt, so I sprinkled Penzeys taco seasoning on to taste while the beans were cooking, and a little more when I added the cream cheese. Still could have used more zip. The cream cheese gave it a lovely, enchiladas suizas-like character, but mellowed the jalapeno and spices out a bit much. Next time, I might use 2/3 the recommended cream cheese and more jalapeno to keep things spicy. As it is, I made it spicy by shaking a little Marie Sharp's habanero hot sauce on the filling before wrapping the burrito closed. But, this is all just personal taste on the seasoning level...it's a great recipe to start with, bland enough for people who don't like super spicy, but able to be added to. I think you could do a lot with this, but it's great as-is. You could add shredded chicken or pork to the mix if you wanted a meaty filling, you could add roasted corn, you could make the burritos with rice filling along with the bean filling, a la Chipotle, etc. Quick,easy cleanup, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessie Robinette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2015
yes it was quick and tasty. Iwarmed the tortillas in the microwave for 10 seconds. even faster!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2015
Great taste and easy, easy weeknight dinner. We love the left overs, too. I add Rotel (original) and a small can of green chiles in lieu of jalapeños. Definitely part of our rotation now- I've made this three times in three weeks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eve Orr
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2015
I made the recipe as written. We enjoyed them, but agreed they weren't good enough to cook again. It had a little too much onion for my taste. I agree with some of the other reviews in that it needed more flavor - maybe cumin, salsa, or cheese. It was a quick and easy meal to cook which was nice. My fiance and I had a small portion left over so we put it in an egg burrito the next morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2015
Me and my dad liked these quite a bit but we're going to make some changes next time I found out I don't like cilantro and neither does he so we're leaving that out next time adding more jalapeños and cooking the beans a little longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2015
These were better than expected! I will make these on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2015
A good solid, quick, vegetarian dish. Since we have a vegetarian and I try to make things that we can all eat without having to make an altered dish this was a good alternative. Likely would make again. Not the best burrito I have ever eaten, but pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonja Grothe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2015
Yummy!! I always add lots of cilantro and I didn't add the jalapeno because I wanted my toddler to be able to enjoy them as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2015
Just whipped this up tonight for dinner. Super easy and super tasty. I made it into 4 6" tortillas and they were very filling. Next time, I'm going to add a bit more cream cheese to make it a bit soupier. It seems slightly dry, but that's an easy fix! Absolutely putting this in the keepers pile. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
Delicious, I doubled the recipe added shredded chicken yo half, and we really enjoyed this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,290) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States