Delicious Baked Chicken Kiev Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
Everybody enjoyed this recipe. I followed the suggestions using the eggs and flour. It is a bit of work, but quite worthwhile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mercer, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Zion, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
I thought this recipe was pretty good. My husband said he would've preferred non-sweetened crust. Maybe I'll try it again that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Texas, USA
Living In: Flower Mound, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
This recipe was delicious. The chicken was moist and tasty and I like the way it contrasted with the sweet crust. Even my finicky brother ate this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaptMicha

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Brookeville, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
Great, moist chicken. Next time I'm pounding the chicken breasts while they're in a plastic bag. I and my kitchen were covered with particles of chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: The Villages, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
Not bad, but not like any Kiev I've ever ordered. Baking it causes the butter filling to melt and run out of each chicken roll. The tops were dry and the bottoms were soaked in butter. But the chicken was moist and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
When I read the recipe it sounded like something very interesting, but it was quite disappointing. I used plain cornflakes, but followed all the other directions. My husband didn't like it, and I didn't like it too much either. I will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
this was good had to add more spices because of the sweetness of the cereal but came out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
Try rolling your chick breasts in egg (beaten) and then flour. Place in the refrigerator for at least an hour to allow the sealing to take place - otherwise your butter oozes out and the seal helps keep it in. After you pull them out of the refrig - roll in buttermilk and I used plain corn flakes. I agree with the other reviewer - parsely (even dried) in your butter stuffing mixture makes this more traditional, beautiful and palatable. In addition, I used minced fresh garlic instead of powdered - just my personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LemonLush

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
This is a good recipe, I grew up eating chicken kiev as my family is acually from kiev...I haven't had it in a while because of the high calorie content, but that has now changed, i did make a few changes, first I added fresh parsley to the butter mixture, when it's ready and you pierce the chicken it's much more pallate pleasing that way. Then, I also use a little flour after i roll the chicken, when combining this with eggs instead of the buttermilk, it helps to seal the butter inside. I also double rolled the chicken in bread crumbs. Overall this is a fantastic way to eat chicken kiev, I made it for my eastern european grandma who was a professional chef for 40 years, and she knew the difference right away, but even so found it to be very good. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahandtheCity

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
This was exceptionally good! Much better than I expected it to be. I didn't have all the ingredients. I mixed the butter with minced garlic and S&P. I used egg whites instead of buttermilk. And I mixed my (unsweetened) cornflakes with S&P because I didn't have the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Honey Baked Chicken II

Honey, mustard, and curry create a simple, sweet-and-savory baked chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States