Delicious Baked Chicken Kiev Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 26, 2008
We like this pretty well. I didn't have corn flakes, so I used crushed corn chips. Very crispy! I used chopped garlic in my butter mixture. I also salted & peppered the chicken breasts after pounding them, and also added a little dried basil. Next, I secured with toothpicks, dunked in egg beaters, and then coated in crushed corn chips. I melted more butter, added in more chopped garlic, and used that to grease my baking dish. Turned out very well - even my picky kids ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
Totally delicious! I used ordinary cornflakes rather than honey coated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
I have made it a few times already and have now changed it up- I use fresh garlic (usually atleast 6 or 7 cloves) and I've been adding a TBSP or 2 of lemon/black pepper marinade(the regular ol'kind in a bottle for marinading chicken) to the butter mixture to give it a bit more of that lemony flavor that I've had in other kiev recipes. thanks for sharing this one jessica! the picky kids request it atleast once a week, I'm a big fan of how its not a fried recipe full of too many calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
A very good recipe - I used packaged corn flake crumbs (much easier) and an egg wash instead of the buttermilk. I had a minor amount of butter leakage during baking - but the chicken swas still tasty. I used fresh garlic in both the butter mixture and the corn flake coating (4 cloves all together). I'll make again, trying for an even tighter seal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Photo by Sara S.
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I used egg/flour instead of buttermilk...and regular corn flakes. Also, I made a slit in each of the chicken breasts and inserted the butter slabs in those. It kept the chicken moist and prevented leakage. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
This recipe was good but not fantastic. I find pounding chicken to be a pain and this recipe wasn't worth it. I did like how it was baked and not fried. I changed a few things. I used plain corn flakes and not sweetened. I also followed others' suggestions and dipped in seasoned flour, egg, then the corn flakes. I wanted a tighter seal. This had very good flavor but it's getting 4 stars because it was a pain :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANDROYAI

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
This was good; I will surely make this again. My only confusion came when the recipe called for honey sweetened corn flakes. I found regular plain corn flakes & sugar corn flakes (like Frosted Flakes) so I wasn't sure which to get. I opted for plain Corn Flakes & it was good...but still I'm not sure I got the "right" one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janalynn505

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
Very good recipe, I substituted the cereal with bread crumbs, which worked just as well. I know many people have complained about the butter, but I didn't have any trouble with it. If the meat is pounded enough and then rolled tight enough only a nominal amount of butter leaks. Good recipe for a cold night and relatively easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
Very good my husband really enjoyed and he's not a chicken fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westlake, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
Fabulous! My family ate every bit of it! I will try stuffing the chicken with cheese and bacon or smoked deli turkey next time. The butter in te middle made this dish a little greasy. Minced garlic in place of powdered is much better. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Kiev

A classic and impressive chicken dish with a secret surprise inside.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States