Delicious Apple Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
I and my family enjoyed this recipe. I even made this recipe. Recipe is very easy and if you make it just as written you will still enjoy. I changed nothing about this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toccoa, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Personally, I've never tried it with apples. Instead, I've swapped in peaches ... many of peaches, and called it a "cobbler". Swap in peaches in place of the apples, then further place peaches between each "dumpling" and along the edges of the pan as well. This usually takes 2 large cans of peaches to pull off. End result is a peach cobbler that has turned me away from even thinking about getting a frozen store one ever again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I just made this for the first time and my family loved it! The only apples I had were Gala, they were perfect for this recipe. My family decided that we have a new holiday dessert. Thank you for sharing such a fun, delicious, easy to prepare recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Okay, I acknowledge I am no chef in the kitchen....but this was by far the BEST desert I have ever made! VERY easy, fun & even the kids can help out. If you have not tried - PLEASE DO you will be the HIT at any party!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DMC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
This recipe was amazingly simple and easy to make. Unfortunately, I didn't have a can of soda or citrus-anything. I used 12 oz. of apple cider and it was absolutely delicious. I will be making this for another dessert option at T'Giving. Kudos to the inventor of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
The kids and I went apple picking today, and with a plethora of apples to use up, I wanted some simple recipes. I honestly didn't have high hopes for this recipe. Wow. I was so wrong. This is AMAZING! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Wow! I found this recipe after reviewing grandmas apple dumplings with my changes and found this recipe followed my way almost exactly! Grandmas used 2 sticks butter and 1 1/2 cups sugar which I lowered to 1 stick butter and 1 cup sugar! Perfect! I used ginger ale as that was on hand, but will do the Dew next! Use less butter too! (and way more cinnamon!) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Made this using peaches- simply banging!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
This recipe is AWESOME!!!! Had it for the first time tonight and will definitely make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
I LOVE these dumplings. They are so quick and easy to make, and as others posted, make the home smell wonderful. I got this recipe from my cousin except there were a few differences. 2 sticks of butter. Melt butter, sugar, and vanilla. 2 large apples instead of 4 small ones. Spray pan instead of greasing it. I used 1 Granny Smith Apple and 1 Pink Lady Apple. I've used Sprite and 7-Up. Either one is OK to use. I sprinkled a little brown sugar and nutmeg over the prepared dumplings. Next time, I will add the brown sugar and nutmeg to the sugar, butter and vanilla while it's cooking. Another reviewer said her dumplings were hard to remove from the pan if you didn't remove them right away after baking. I've made them twice in the past 2 weeks, once for home, and once for work (E-mailing the recipe to co-workers now.), and I didn't have a problem with them sticking to the pan. Of course, my pan was sprayed, and it was glass.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

Apple Hand Pies

See how to make perfect apple turnovers.

Mountain Apple Cobbler

A secret sweet ingredient makes this Southern classic extra-special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States