Delicious Angel Hair in Tomato, Tuna and Olive Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
Wow, this sauce was very bland, but has potential. I made a few changes for improvement to perhaps 3.5 - 4 stars. The changes are in lieu of the original ingredients. Use: 1.) 12 oz. Solid White Albacore; 2.) 14.5 oz can Hunt's Diced Tomatoes, undrained; 3.) Use 8 0z. chopped black olives; 4.) use 3 cloves pressed garlic cloves, 1 tsp dried basil and 1/2 tsp dried oregano, 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes; 5.) Add 3 TBS capers (these really make a difference!); and 6.) Top with grated Romano cheese for extra flavor. Allow flavors to blend in refrigerator before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
im not too crazy about this dish...i didnt really care for the flavor and i must have added too many olives
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terra

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
March 7, 2006 Review: I couldn't decide between 3 1/2 or 4 stars for a rating, so I think a low 4 stars would be adaquate. It was good, nothing sensational, but something different. It's a really mild (bland) flavor. I did sub the whole peeled tomatoes for diced tomatoes, so maybe that would have made the difference between good and great. 5/4/06 UPDATE: I have changed my rating of this recipe based on the fact that I had so much extra sauce, I had to freeze it. It's still in my freezer, I know we'll never eat it, and I hate looking at it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
This was really good and, honestly, better than I expected. Used 3 cloves garlic, since we're garlic lovers. Substituted 15oz can of tomato sauce as we did not have tomato puree. Worked fine, though probably would be better with crushed/pureed tomatos. Considered doubling the tuna, but think now it would be too strong. This is just enough tuna that you can taste it, but it doesn't overwhelm. Great stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
Excellent! I also served with salad garlic toast and received wonderful comments from my husband. We will difinately be having this over and over again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
We do not particularly like canned tuna, so I used grilled, marinated tuna instead. Only other changes are that I used fresh basil and added 1 tsp. red pepper flakes. The flavor is unique and very good. I can't quite bring myself to rate the recipe 5 star, but it is a strong 4 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-16 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basil Chicken Over Angel Hair

Chicken breasts are simmered in a spicy tomato and basil sauce.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States