Delicious and Easy Mock Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
Never mind the chicken and brussels sprouts I served this with - I could have eaten this all by itself! Five stars for being a good basic recipe to use as a starting point for your own creativity, with endless possibilities. What I liked best was not having to boil the orzo first, drain it, then proceed. I sauteed chopped cremini mushrooms along with the onion and garlic in both olive oil and butter. For a little more dimension in flavor and creaminess I used a mixture of chicken broth, cream and a good glug of white wine. In addition to salt and pepper I seasoned this with some fresh thyme. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
For a much creamier pasta, add 1/2 cup thick cream, simmer for at least 3mins., before tossing the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
YUM!! I omitted the onion, and added a dollop of sour cream, a splash of milk, a Tbs of butter, chicken, and veggies and this was an awesome dish. Will make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
This didn't have the creaminess of a typical risotto, but it was still very yummy! I added some parm and a bit of fresh chopped raw spinach. I made a whole pound and my family devoured everything but a couple of tablespoons. Thanks Cynthia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
Not a risotto but a good pasta side. The liquid/orzo/time ratios are the key elements. Everything else is open for play. I used half chicken broth, half white wine. Added fresh tomatoes (while cooking) and fresh basil and butter (at the end). Served Parm cheese on the side. Nice to be able to put it on and leave it while you're doing a quick steak/chicken breast/fish fillet. My tip: I grate the garlic on a micro plane (instead of mincing) and throw it in with the onion (no chunks of burnt/bitter garlic).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
I actually cooked the orzo in 2% milk (with a little white wine and water thrown in for good measure). Added onion, a can of stewed tomatoes and some frozen peas. Top with parmesan. This stuff is so good. I served with a basic shrimp scampi and some green beans. 'Twas very well received :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
This was very good and I was able to make it using ingredients already on hand. I did modify the recipe by using half chicken broth and half evaporated milk. I added a little more milk to the orzo as it was drying out. I also added parmesan cheese to the top. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
omg this was heavenly!! i've never made a homemade risotto because it sounds too labor intensive, and i'm more of a quick and easy type of cook :) well this was both, and turned out wonderfully. i've also made it will mini pearl pasta which had the same great results. mine is never dry, has great flavor, and goes with a lot of different types of main dish. thanks for a great stand-by recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Really good and simple My orzo was cooked in less than 15 min. and parm cheese would be a nice variation
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StylinCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewiston, Maine, USA
Living In: Auburn, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
I took the advice of some other reviewers and added butter and basil to the recipe, but I did NOT add any cheese. The orzo had a delicious flavor that complimented the salmon I served it with, without being overpowering or sticky. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Karen's Tips for Easy Baked Risotto

Get tips for making easy baked mushroom and onion risotto.

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Bacon Risotto

Bacon’s the star of the show in this simple risotto recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States