Delicious and Easy Mock Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
I just made this recipe for dinner with some simple chicken and salad and it is awesome! Very simple and there are a thousand ways you could change up the flavor with different herbs, stocks, wines, ect. This will definetely become a staple in my household. The only thing I did differently is that I halfed the recipe & I stirred in 2 Tbs of unsalted butter in the end to help with the creaminess. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StevenandMaggie McClain

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
I made this for dinner tonight and it was a hit. I did use 3 cloves of garlic and sautted on evoo/butter. I also added 1/2 dry white wine. Sweet peas and fresh grated parmesan cheese were the final touch. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wilmany64

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glen Allen, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
This was very good and I was able to make it using ingredients already on hand. I did modify the recipe by using half chicken broth and half evaporated milk. I added a little more milk to the orzo as it was drying out. I also added parmesan cheese to the top. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
This recipe was excellent. My husband and kids (and I) ate it all up. I added a bunch of italian seasoning, black pepper and lots of parmesan cheese and it was creamy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
I actually cooked the orzo in 2% milk (with a little white wine and water thrown in for good measure). Added onion, a can of stewed tomatoes and some frozen peas. Top with parmesan. This stuff is so good. I served with a basic shrimp scampi and some green beans. 'Twas very well received :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
I made this cause I had orzo but not a lot of other stuff so I needed a simple recipe. This was awesome! I gave it a four because I doctored it up to a five. Started with 1 tbs good olive oil and 1 tbs butter. Added italian seasoning and a touch of cream. It was awesome my boyfriend loved it, and that's all that's important to me! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennaLynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Very good, I added some fresh parsley, mushrooms & grated cheese! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
YUM!! I omitted the onion, and added a dollop of sour cream, a splash of milk, a Tbs of butter, chicken, and veggies and this was an awesome dish. Will make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
I took the advice of some other reviewers and added butter and basil to the recipe, but I did NOT add any cheese. The orzo had a delicious flavor that complimented the salmon I served it with, without being overpowering or sticky. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
Mixed reviews for recipes always intrigue me, and since I have been looking for more orzo recipes thought I would give this one a try. I made as directed except added freshly grated parmesan just before serving and it was very good. There are several brands of orzo, and I found the one with the smallest size. In other recipes, I have found this tastes more 'rice-like' and it was the same with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

Displaying results 71-80 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States