Delicious and Easy Mock Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 18, 2008
This was very good and I was able to make it using ingredients already on hand. I did modify the recipe by using half chicken broth and half evaporated milk. I added a little more milk to the orzo as it was drying out. I also added parmesan cheese to the top. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
This recipe was excellent. My husband and kids (and I) ate it all up. I added a bunch of italian seasoning, black pepper and lots of parmesan cheese and it was creamy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
I actually cooked the orzo in 2% milk (with a little white wine and water thrown in for good measure). Added onion, a can of stewed tomatoes and some frozen peas. Top with parmesan. This stuff is so good. I served with a basic shrimp scampi and some green beans. 'Twas very well received :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
I made this cause I had orzo but not a lot of other stuff so I needed a simple recipe. This was awesome! I gave it a four because I doctored it up to a five. Started with 1 tbs good olive oil and 1 tbs butter. Added italian seasoning and a touch of cream. It was awesome my boyfriend loved it, and that's all that's important to me! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennaLynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Very good, I added some fresh parsley, mushrooms & grated cheese! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
YUM!! I omitted the onion, and added a dollop of sour cream, a splash of milk, a Tbs of butter, chicken, and veggies and this was an awesome dish. Will make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
I took the advice of some other reviewers and added butter and basil to the recipe, but I did NOT add any cheese. The orzo had a delicious flavor that complimented the salmon I served it with, without being overpowering or sticky. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
Mixed reviews for recipes always intrigue me, and since I have been looking for more orzo recipes thought I would give this one a try. I made as directed except added freshly grated parmesan just before serving and it was very good. There are several brands of orzo, and I found the one with the smallest size. In other recipes, I have found this tastes more 'rice-like' and it was the same with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: May 3, 2007
I made a few changes and ended up with a wonderful, vegetarian main dish. I added a 1/2 cup heavy cream and a pinch of safron during the simmering step and at the end, I added 1/4 cup fresh lemon juice, everyone was in love with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cary, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
Easy and my 8 year old daughter loved it! I made it as written and my daughter and I really enjoyed it, then I reheated the leftovers with cream and about 1/2 cup parmesan cheese along with some herb sauce mix from the gravy section of our local grocer. Hubby loved the leftovers! Is it risotto? No, but it was good and easy as stated. It is a little "creamier" if you Overcook the orzo (usually served a bit al dente) a bit. Well, we liked it anyhow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aurora Mandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Bacon Risotto

Bacon’s the star of the show in this simple risotto recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States