Delicious and Easy Mock Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I've made this twice now. The first time I added tomatoes to it er some reviews. It was okay. The second time, I just used the ingredients listed, except I substituted 1 can cream of chicken soup for 1 of the broth (per another review). I liked it much better this time around. It wasn't bad the first time - it's just the tomatoes change the taste a lot, I think. This time I got more of what I'd anticipated when I read the recipe. I also added a sprinkle of parmesan near the end of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Great basic recipe! I used creamy chicken soup instead of just broth. Great taste and goes well with anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
Agreed that it's not a risotto, but is still a nice side dish. Very easy to play with and adapt to personal taste. I doubled the garlic, used 3/4 chicken stock, and added 1/2 cup of half n half during the simmering process. Added chopped fresh spinach towards the end. I took advice and topped with parmesan cheese. Now either I put too much parm on top, but I found it to be too rich. So if you use any sort of cream/milk, careful on the cheese. Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
I made a few changes for my likings, since I use cubes to make the broth, I replaced 1/2 cup water with 1/2 cup evaporated milk, fried some onion, and since I added too much oil, I added some flour to the oil to make "roux" (even though you have to use clarified butter for that) And some garlic powder/black pepper to it and some cornstarch mixed with water to thicken it more. Took me only 8 minutes to do this :D Will make again and again and again and again and so on and so forth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hougang, North-East Region, Singapore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
I love orzo pasta & risotto, but I do not like the time it takes to make risotto, so I tried this. Not the same, but very good. I added a little half & half, chopped basil & parsley at the end. My crew ate the whole thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durant, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
I made a similar mock risotto with a few changes to this recipe, turned out pretty good :) I use left over jasmine rice (cooked) and I added a green squash diced small with onions & garlic sautee plus I added a bit of milk and butter at the end for some extra creaminess since my rice was already cooked and wouldnt create as much starch. Thanks for the idea :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Babylon, New York, USA
Living In: Bellmore, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
garnished w parmesan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
This was a quick, easy side dish. The flavor was less than overpowering. We did add some parmesan cheese as others have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bowling Green, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
This was only ok, and I even used 1/2 chicken broth, 1/2 cream to make it creamier. It is a good base recipe, but needs a lot of work to make it really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgewater, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
Not a risotto but a good pasta side. The liquid/orzo/time ratios are the key elements. Everything else is open for play. I used half chicken broth, half white wine. Added fresh tomatoes (while cooking) and fresh basil and butter (at the end). Served Parm cheese on the side. Nice to be able to put it on and leave it while you're doing a quick steak/chicken breast/fish fillet. My tip: I grate the garlic on a micro plane (instead of mincing) and throw it in with the onion (no chunks of burnt/bitter garlic).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States