Delicious and Easy Mock Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Tara
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
Yummy!!I fallowed the recipe to a "T",tasted it(was good) but, needed some added flavor.So,this is what i than did.I added baby bella mushrooms,more garlic (about 2 more cloves),1/2 tsp thyme,a pinch of rosemary and a splash of cream at the end just to make it creamier.Very easy,Yummy and my kids loved it.Will Make again,Thank you :))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tomah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
Never mind the chicken and brussels sprouts I served this with - I could have eaten this all by itself! Five stars for being a good basic recipe to use as a starting point for your own creativity, with endless possibilities. What I liked best was not having to boil the orzo first, drain it, then proceed. I sauteed chopped cremini mushrooms along with the onion and garlic in both olive oil and butter. For a little more dimension in flavor and creaminess I used a mixture of chicken broth, cream and a good glug of white wine. In addition to salt and pepper I seasoned this with some fresh thyme. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2009
Tasty and easy. I added a couple tbsp of milk whenever it got dry. In total, probably used about 1/2 cup milk. Will be part of my rotation to serve alongside Parmesan Chicken 1 from this website. Next time, I will add wilted spinach for a balanced meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARATHONMOMM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Good - not risotto but an easy, fast side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Piscataway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Great recipe! Super fast, easy, and yummy! I took another reviewers advice and added 1/2 cup of cream w/ the stock. I also added mushrooms w/ the onions and garlic and a hand hull of parm cheese near the end. Also, as w/real risotto I had to had a bit of stock near the end. Risotto w/out the fuss!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by organic_mommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
Used 1 can Condensed Cream of Mushroom soup & 1/2 of Chicken Broth. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katswirlz
Home Town: Southgate, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I love risotto, and half of what I love is the anticipation of it, all that stirring and smelling while you wait. However, I do not have unlimited amounts of time, and in a pinch this has substituted nicely. I have even made it with some of my favorite risotto add-ins like mushrooms and crab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I've made this twice now. The first time I added tomatoes to it er some reviews. It was okay. The second time, I just used the ingredients listed, except I substituted 1 can cream of chicken soup for 1 of the broth (per another review). I liked it much better this time around. It wasn't bad the first time - it's just the tomatoes change the taste a lot, I think. This time I got more of what I'd anticipated when I read the recipe. I also added a sprinkle of parmesan near the end of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Great basic recipe! I used creamy chicken soup instead of just broth. Great taste and goes well with anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
Agreed that it's not a risotto, but is still a nice side dish. Very easy to play with and adapt to personal taste. I doubled the garlic, used 3/4 chicken stock, and added 1/2 cup of half n half during the simmering process. Added chopped fresh spinach towards the end. I took advice and topped with parmesan cheese. Now either I put too much parm on top, but I found it to be too rich. So if you use any sort of cream/milk, careful on the cheese. Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Bacon Risotto

Bacon’s the star of the show in this simple risotto recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States