Delicious and Easy Mock Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
wonderful way to use orzo, and it makes a ton. probably more like 6-8 servings. to make this taste more like a traditional risotto, i did add a couple of tablespoons of white wine at the beginning, and added a bit of butter and parmesan cheese at the end. i stirred it quite a few times throughout the cooking to release the pasta's starches and make it creamier, so i needed to add a bit more liquid. i think i used about 4c chicken stock. in the end, this tasted very much like risotto to me, just easier. a good base recipe, would be good with added veggies or herbs, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zeebee
Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Really good and simple My orzo was cooked in less than 15 min. and parm cheese would be a nice variation
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StylinCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewiston, Maine, USA
Living In: Auburn, Maine, USA
Photo by McBacon
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This is delicious and easy! I don't know how it becomes creamy, but it does and it's awesome! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
VERY GOOD!! We loved this! I made this early in the day and simply reheated it in the microwave for a couple of minutes just before serving. I changed the process by sautéing my onion in the EVOO, then adding the orzo and sautéing until golden. Then I added the garlic and sautéed until fragrant; added my broth, covered and simmered. My orzo was done in a lot less time, so watch it carefully. I added a little chopped fresh parsley for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Very good and worth giving a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shortstuff2u_21

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
We love this! Great fast and easy side dish that is sure to show up at the table often. I will say that as written this makes a ton probably closer to 6 1/2cup servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This recipe was so good and so easy! I did add broccoli to it at the beginning with the onions and garlic and added cream and parm in the last 2 minutes of cooking but it was just so good! A very good substitute for a risotto if you don't have the time to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
DELICIOUS! I skipped the onion, but I wouldn't next time. I used two cups of chicken stock (reconstituted cube), one cup white wine and half a cup of cream. Add the cream near the end. I could eat this by the bowlful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
A new family favorite. I left the kitchen to log on and tell everyone that this dish is as simple and easy as it claims AND it is simply delicious. I always try the original instructions first before changing it around - next time I will try adding mushrooms as suggested. Parmasan cheese made this delicious dish pure bliss. I was sad to put the leftovers up - not that there were a lot to put away. My sweetman stopped me before I could put them up for thirds. :-) Thank you Cynthia Clark!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
This was delicious! I cant compare it to being a good mock of risotto since Ive never made it before. But I would have to say it should be very close since how creamy and light this came out to be. So good! I used beef broth instead of chicken and this would be so good to add different flavors into it like parmesan cheese and other veggies. Great side dish and I will definitely make again! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Indiana, USA
Living In: Moores Hill, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States