Delicious and Easy Mock Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Very flavorful. Simple and yet full of flavor, i had no problems with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
this was very good. i toasted the orzo before adding the broth. i will make again, a great side to my blackened chicken and sauteed asparagus for dinner! thanks for the post cynthia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
Super easy. Good as is, but would be great with a bit more flavor. I will try adding mushrooms next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
I used butter & olive oil combo, then toasted the orzo in the pan for a few minutes. Then I started adding broth and added my garlic & onions. One the orzo was cooked, I tossed some fresh spinach in to wilt. I sprinkled some asiago cheese on just before serving. Delicious side dish for my grilled chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middleburg Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Made this tonight and it was a hit. I added some butter, a little milk and sourcream at the end and it gave it that extra creaminess I was looking for. With the leftovers I added some Velveeta and more milk and it was very good as well and will make a great side for tomorrows dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
so this was an easy alternative to traditional risotto, and my kids and hubby loved it,. I used 1/2 the amount of chicken broth and 1/2 heavy cream and a splash of white wine. I also threw in a cup of mixed veggies and a dab of butter and some parmesan cheese at the end and it was delicious. thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Love this recipe. As close to rissotto as you'll get without all the fuss! My husband loved it too. Thanks for a great idea : ) Personal touch...stirred in two tablespoons butter at end after turning off heat with about 3 1/2 oz freshly grated parmessan. Served topped with freshly grated parmessan on top. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodie from the north

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ludington, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
wonderful way to use orzo, and it makes a ton. probably more like 6-8 servings. to make this taste more like a traditional risotto, i did add a couple of tablespoons of white wine at the beginning, and added a bit of butter and parmesan cheese at the end. i stirred it quite a few times throughout the cooking to release the pasta's starches and make it creamier, so i needed to add a bit more liquid. i think i used about 4c chicken stock. in the end, this tasted very much like risotto to me, just easier. a good base recipe, would be good with added veggies or herbs, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zeebee
Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Really good and simple My orzo was cooked in less than 15 min. and parm cheese would be a nice variation
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StylinCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewiston, Maine, USA
Living In: Auburn, Maine, USA
Photo by crunchy
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This is delicious and easy! I don't know how it becomes creamy, but it does and it's awesome! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crunchy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Risotto

Bacon’s the star of the show in this simple risotto recipe.

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States