Delicious and Easy Mock Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Very flavorful. Simple and yet full of flavor, i had no problems with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
this was very good. i toasted the orzo before adding the broth. i will make again, a great side to my blackened chicken and sauteed asparagus for dinner! thanks for the post cynthia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
Super easy. Good as is, but would be great with a bit more flavor. I will try adding mushrooms next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
I used butter & olive oil combo, then toasted the orzo in the pan for a few minutes. Then I started adding broth and added my garlic & onions. One the orzo was cooked, I tossed some fresh spinach in to wilt. I sprinkled some asiago cheese on just before serving. Delicious side dish for my grilled chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middleburg Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Made this tonight and it was a hit. I added some butter, a little milk and sourcream at the end and it gave it that extra creaminess I was looking for. With the leftovers I added some Velveeta and more milk and it was very good as well and will make a great side for tomorrows dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
so this was an easy alternative to traditional risotto, and my kids and hubby loved it,. I used 1/2 the amount of chicken broth and 1/2 heavy cream and a splash of white wine. I also threw in a cup of mixed veggies and a dab of butter and some parmesan cheese at the end and it was delicious. thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Love this recipe. As close to rissotto as you'll get without all the fuss! My husband loved it too. Thanks for a great idea : ) Personal touch...stirred in two tablespoons butter at end after turning off heat with about 3 1/2 oz freshly grated parmessan. Served topped with freshly grated parmessan on top. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodie from the north

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ludington, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
wonderful way to use orzo, and it makes a ton. probably more like 6-8 servings. to make this taste more like a traditional risotto, i did add a couple of tablespoons of white wine at the beginning, and added a bit of butter and parmesan cheese at the end. i stirred it quite a few times throughout the cooking to release the pasta's starches and make it creamier, so i needed to add a bit more liquid. i think i used about 4c chicken stock. in the end, this tasted very much like risotto to me, just easier. a good base recipe, would be good with added veggies or herbs, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zeebee
Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Really good and simple My orzo was cooked in less than 15 min. and parm cheese would be a nice variation
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StylinCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewiston, Maine, USA
Living In: Auburn, Maine, USA
Photo by crunchy
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This is delicious and easy! I don't know how it becomes creamy, but it does and it's awesome! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crunchy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Bacon Risotto

Bacon’s the star of the show in this simple risotto recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States