Delicious and Easy Mock Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
I really enjoyed this recipe... certainly I agree with the other posters, it isn't classic risotto... but it is still a delicious side. I added 1/2 cup shredded farmer's cheese (all i had.. i would've used parmesan) and also some herbs (rosemary, marjoram, oregano).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
This made a nice side dish, but I think it needed a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jocelyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
For a much creamier pasta, add 1/2 cup thick cream, simmer for at least 3mins., before tossing the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
As "mock risotto," it's a failure, because it's pasta, not rice. Why not just call it "tasty orzo?" As a pasta side dish, it's nice. You didn't do anyting wrong, FLORIDAMAMA. Risotto isn't hard at all, it just takes a fair amount of time to stand there stirring it, and sometimes we don't have an extra 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
This didn't have the creaminess of a typical risotto, but it was still very yummy! I added some parm and a bit of fresh chopped raw spinach. I made a whole pound and my family devoured everything but a couple of tablespoons. Thanks Cynthia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
Tasty but not creamy. It was easy and used things already on hand. Nice for a weekday sidedish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
Great alternative to everyday rice or pasta. Very quick and tasty. I did add a handful of parmesean cheese at the end to make it extra creamy. Will make this again, and play with add-in's. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
Although my husband liked it, I thought it was very bland. Very easy though, and would probably great with some stir-ins like sun-dried tomatoes, or fresh basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEETLEXU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hudson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
This mock risotto was excellent. I cut the recipe in half since it is just my husband and I, and I also added a little smoked paprika to it. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2005
your easy risotto was dilicous but didnt taste like risotto I dont know what I did or didnt do but I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Bacon Risotto

Bacon’s the star of the show in this simple risotto recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States