Delicious and Easy Corn on the Cob Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2015
The worst possible thing you can do to fresh corn is to put it in water and putting it in for 20 minutes you're going to end up with something completely soggy. Adding sugar to quality corn is adding insult to injury. Fresh corn on the cob does not need sugar it is usually loaded with sugar if it's picked recently. The best way to cook fresh corn on the cob is to use a steamer and steam it from 10 to 12 minutes and that's all you need to do. the best corn available in New England is butter and sugar corn whIch needs no sugar whatsoever. Even adding butter is very optional although the butter does not ruin the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peter Calvet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2015
The best corn on the cob I have ever made! I will be making it this way for good from now on. It had the perfect amount of sweet taste and was super delicious. Perfectly cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holli Hernández

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2015
Easy and excellent! My fiancé and the kids love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Mudry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2015
Easy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: May 11, 2015
Super simple and delicious way to prepare corn. I used this method to cook our first corn of the 2015 season. I will be using it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2015
Simple and perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
It's awesome....just the way it is. I do have a trick from my mom though. Instead of using sugar, add 1/3 cup whole milk to the water, bring to a boil, shut off and let sit for 20-25 minutes. Sweet as sweet can be
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi Clark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
This is a good fix for "old" corn, but there is no need to add sugar to the water when cooking fresh corn. Simply bring water to a boil, add shucked and clean ears, boil for no more than 4 minutes. All you really need to do is heat the corn. Overcooking is what removes the natural sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
We use 1 teaspoon of sugar and squeeze half a lemon and drop it into the pot. Add the corn when the water is still cold. Boil for 5 min, turn off and cover, leave for 15 min. Wife has been making it that way for 30 years. Makes the corn sweet and its still crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
So simple, but the results are incredible! And 25 minutes in the pot is perfect! It cooks the corn just enough to keep it tender-crisp. Any less and it would taste underdone. Thanks for a great, simple, delicious way to make corn on the cob!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jamie's Sweet and Easy Corn on the Cob

Quick and easy recipe for boiled corn.

Microwave Corn on the Cob

The no-nonsense way to make quick, perfect corn on the cob.

How to Grill Corn on the Cob

See an easy way to grill fresh corn on the cob.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States