Delicate Lemon Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
It was worth a try. Hubby seemed to like it okay enough to keep eating it, but we still have a piece left after several days, and I took most of it to work. I did add a 1/2 tspn of baking soda, only bc I wasn't sure my liquid still had much carbonation. Turned out well enough, for pound cake. ;) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melanie
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
This recipe's name is an accurate description of what it yields - it is a delicate, lemon pound cake. I followed the recipe exactly as written. The only thing I'd like to try differently next time is to use cake flour instead of all purpose flour to see if that will yield a finer crumb. I baked mine in a thin metal bundt pan for 1 hour, 10 minutes, and it might could've cooked about 5 minutes less...so keep an eye on it at the end of your cooking time. My cake tester had moist crumb on it-not gooey batter. I will definitely make this again, 5 star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Absolutely delicious! I used Fiora di Sicilia extract from King Arthur Flour and 1/2 cup of sour cream for added moistness. I also used a simple lemon glaze for more citrus flavor. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bayside, New York, USA
Living In: Voorhees, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Very delicate, just like it's name says. Didn't have lemon extract, so doubled up on vanilla and reduced lemon-lime soda to add zest and juice from one lemon. Wonderful texture. Thanks for the recipe. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeekenderCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2011
THIS WAS MY VERY FIRST CAKE MADE FROM SCRATCH.. I USED SPRITE AS MY LEMON-LIME SODA AND IT WAS DELICIOUS...DOES ANYONE ELSE HAS ANY MORE CAKE RECEIPES...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
SO disappointing--dry, not lemony enough. Won't try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
According to my 15 year old son, this is the best thing I have ever made. It really was light with a soft crispy crust that was perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Cheri-Beri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wasilla, Alaska, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I use all butter ,cake flour instead of all purpose flour, about 4 Tsp lemon instant pudding and a doppling of sour cream.I have making this cake for years and with my additinal ingredients its to die for.Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candy Lady
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
I made a few changes in that I used lemon juice and grated lemon peel in place of lemon extract, and use a 7-up in place of lemon-lime soda, and I used no shortening, just butter. My family loved it! Lastly, since there was so much batter, I used two bread loaf pans. It worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROGERFOARD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
I made this for a dinner with friends, and it was a big hit! The amount of lemon flavoring was just right. (After sprinkling with powdered sugar, I grated some lemon zest on the top.) We used slices as the base for some strawberry shortcake. I'll definitely make this over and over again. Maybe I'll experiment with replacing the lemon exptract with different flavorings as well. Can't wait to see how it turns out the next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States