Delicata Delish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
Enjoyed this dish. I used acorn squash as that's all that was available at the supermarket. I also left out the garlic as I'm not a big garlic fan and I thought the shallots would be enough. Tasty dish, and very nutritious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwich, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
like rice, quinoa has a very neutral flavor and the ingredients used in this recipe did not do it justice. It was okay, but definately not worth all of the fat or calories you will eat from the butter and pine nuts. I will not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Hills, Utah, USA
Living In: Fort Mill, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
i cooked the grains in water & broth for flavor and added some chopped veggies to it for more of a pilaf style stuffing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
A good beginning to a delicata squash recipe. My changes included using olive oil to saute the shallots/garlic, and a little roasted red pepper that I added. In addition, you should definitely cook quinoa (and rice for that matter) in veggie broth... not only does it add nutritional value, but a great deal of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JRTNCORGI

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Terrific recipe! I altered slightly by using leeks instead of shallots and sliced almonds instead of pine nuts. I also added goat cheese on top of the finished product. Just delicious. I would make this again and would definitely serve to guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
My rating is as such because I would probably not make this again. I don't know what I was thinking wanting to make a "stuffed squash". I have two young kids and stuffing the squash just to turn around and unstuff it, to cut off the skin and serve to them made no sense for me. I also wasn't that thrilled with the delicata squash, perhaps I don't like it since I had never had it before. I will however, make the quinoa(and with vegetable stock again) because it was delicious. I guess I will just try another way to liven up the squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
This is a very good way to make squash a complete dish. I used 2 squash because there's lots of filling. My squash took longer to bake. I used 2 little red onions because that's what I got from my CSA farm. I cooked the quinoa in broth and added 1/2 package of Boca breakfast links. They were a great addition and gave the dish more flavor. My husband and I both really enjoyed it and I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
This recipie was very good, but even better after I tweaked it. I added zucchini in with the shallots and garlic and I stuffed red peppers instead of squash. I think they have more flavor than squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I made this almost exactly as described, except I doubled the amount and cooked 2 squash...and it was great! I will definitely try it again. The quinoa is a perfect compliment to the squash and I got rave reviews from the 4 people that ate it with me. As a side note...I think it is funny how others have rated this recipe after they changed it and then give it a poor rating...lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I thought this was a tasty way to make the delicata squash I received from my CSA. I did use vegetable broth instead of water to cook the quinoa as well as used leeks instead of shallots. It was delish! Thanks for the idea
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Pizzas with Rosemary

These individual pizzas put a tasty twist on pizza night.

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

Stuffed Butternut Squash

Baked squash are stuffed with Brussels sprouts, carrots, beans, and rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States