Delicata Creamy Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
Very yummy soup... kind of a sweet flavor to it. Next time, I will reduce the amount of cream, and maybe try it without even.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynnfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
This recipe was fantastic. I served it at a small dinner party, and one guest turned over her cup to get the last few drops out onto her spoon. Another guest who "doesn't like squash" ate all of it before he knew what it was. A big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
I think delicata squash is a must for this recipe; it imparts a sweetness you won't get with butternut. I added some ground nutmeg and ginger, replaced half and half for heavy cream and actually put in less than the recipe called for, and it was still super creamy. This soup does wonders in conjuring up fall leaves, crisp temperatures, the feel of New England!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
WOW! I think that pretty much somes it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mochamix

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
i used 1 kabocha instead of 3 delicata squash and had to bake it for an hour and added another cup of vegetable broth to make the soup less thick. my bf liked it alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fujisawa, Kanagawa, Japan
Living In: Brea, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
This recipe was fabulous. I just became aware of the delicata squash. What wondeful sweet flavor is has. I have sent this to all my friends I liked it so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
This recipe was a real hit. I used butternut squash since it was more readily availble. When finished it was a little bland so I added salt, pepper and nutmeg. Cinnamon would have also have been good instead of the nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
this is a wonderful fall soup! i used buttercup squash, because that is what i had on hand. roasting the squash gives the soup a nutty, full bodied flavor. i had to roast the squash for about a full hour because the buttercup are larger than delacata, of course. i adjusted the ratio of broth and cream slightly based on my amount of squash. 2 buttercup squash, 2 cups broth, and 1 cup cream. it turned out perfect. pureeing the soup at the end makes it so frothy and light tasting. it was a huge hit with our dinner guests! add a couple little sprigs of fresh chives on top when serving for an elegant presentation. will definitely make this again. it was so simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hastings, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
wow, really really nice soup. ended up using butternut squash and it was delicious. for those who have not yet invested in a home kitchen 'wand,' you should! just put it in the pot of soup and go - it's smooth as silk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
We loved this -- but we didn't have quite the right ingredients -- I made it with a combination of butternut squash and delicata squash and I cooked the squash in the microwave. Could it be even better with roasted squash? We'll try it that way too. I also tried adding nutmeg -- one of the other reviewers mentioned that. A healthy pinch makes for a subtly stronger flavor for the soup. Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States