Delicata Creamy Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
For a more healthful soup, I sauteed the squash with more onion for more carmelization, before adding the veggie broth. I simmered the broth and squash together for about 45 minutes, removed the bay leaves. pureed the soup, and added about 1/2 tsp of nutmeg. I added a soupcon of heavy cream to eachbowl when I served it. More taste of squash in this version, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ItalianFoodie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aliquippa, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Roast squash first, has a neat nutty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Delicious! Made it from organic CSA box and will make it again. I didn't have heavy cream and so I found a substitute online that worked just fine: mixed 3/4 c milk, 1/3 c melted butter, with 1 tbls flour. I also used a pre-made veggie broth (store bought) and so I didn't add any salt and it didn't miss it at all. I also softened the squash in the microwave instead of in the oven- about 5 minutes in a bowl with a little water to steam. Thank you for a lovely recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Very good - did not adjust the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This has to be the best fall soup in the world! I cut the recipe in half because I only had one large delicata squash... It still came out perfect. My husband liked his with a sprinkle of cinnamon on top. I will make this again for sure. It is rich and elegant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarcieA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Delicious soup reminiscient of potato soup, but sweeter. I made a few alterations - half and half instead of heavy cream, low-fat/low sodium chicken broth instead of vegetable broth. I also added a few sprigs of fresh thyme and a dash of crushed red pepper for a little kick. My family liked it well enough to add it to our menu periodically.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
had this at a friends and then made myself 3 days later! SO good! my friend used half and half instead of the heavy whipping cream (as did i) and it was perfect! may try next time with homo milk instead to make it a touch healthier! over all fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Adding nutmeg (about 1 tsp) turns this from a good recipe to an excellent one. I also used light cream and milk instead, and it was still plenty rich enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Delicious tasting soup! I had to substitute Chicken Broth for Vegetable broth because that's what I had in the frig. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
An excellent tasting soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States