Delicata Creamy Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I had a couple of delicatas and a couple of carnival squash in our CSA box, so I used both varieties. I added about a half-teaspoon of freshly grated nutmeg and substituted non-fat Greek yogurt for the heavy whipping cream. The results were smooth, creamy, and very rich-tasting. Definitely a keeper! I can't wait to try it with just the delicatas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by calicarolee
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Ran across this recipe by typing in the search bar for delicata squash, so I made it!! I used chicken broth instead of vegetable broth and it turned out great. If my vegetable delivery man brings me more delicata squash, I'll be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I added some curry powder to take it up a notch! So yummmmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slycooley24

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Awesome soup. I used leeks as well as onions and used chicken broth instead of vegetable broth. I also made small cheese puffs and served them on top like crouton. Complete meal in one dish. Will be added as a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
So good, and very versatile! I changed almost everything in the recipe, and still delicious! Used milk, butter and flour instead of cream, onion powder (no onion), chicken broth, added carrots. Also added baked spaghetti squash: Poke spaghetti squash with knife to prevent bursting in oven. Place on a pan, and roast at 375 degrees for 1 hour. Mix with 4 Tb butter, 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp nutmeg. Add to soup. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
This soup was so easy to make and quite tasty. Instead of the heavy cream I used a block of soft tofu, which added a nice creamy texture and extra protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Great Recipe! Have used several varities of squash, whatever was handy, and each came out great. Also subsitued fat free half and half for the heavy cream creating a lower calorie version that is still creamy. It's become a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Substituted Half & Half for heavy cream and added some nutmeg, otherwise followed the recipe. This soup is creamy and sweet, I absolutely loved it and put it in my pumpkin soup bowls this year. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Simple and delicious. I used half and half as suggested and some nutmeg. It was flavorful enough without salt or pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Delicious! This was the first time I've used Delicata squash and I loved it, the flavor is so delicate. I used chicken broth, omited the heavy cream, and added about a 1/4 low fat milk at the end. I'm headed to the farmer's market now in hopes of finding more delicata squash to make this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy
Living In: Carlisle, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States