Delicata Creamy Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Of all the soups I've been testing this winter, this is the best savory. I made it as directed and it was easy to double. Easy to make,too, as that method of cooking the squash makes it a cinch to handle. This will be made again the next time I find delicata at my farmers' market!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Delicious! I had a couple delicata squash that I wanted to use for dinner and this turned out to be a great recipe for it! I made a few substitutions due to what was on hand (half-and half instead of heavy cream and chicken broth instead of vegetable broth). I'll definitely want to make this again if I have delicata squash again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Very good soup!! I will eat it again.I added some black beans and pinto beans and blended it all together.It made it more creamy and then melted marscapone cheese in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
I had Delicata squash in my veggie box. We have never had this type but we love squash so I searched here for a recipe and made this soup. It was so incredibly delicious! I made two changes - I subbed fat free half & half because I had it on hand, and I used white pepper instead of black. Also one reviewer suggested grating some fresh nutmeg on top which I did. Loved it! Will definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
This soup was so good and so easy to make. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
WOW!!! I always loved butter squash soup whenever I ate out, but I never made it at home until now and it was a hit! I skipped the chopped onion and used chicken both, cinnamon and onion powder instead and the roasted smell lingered long after soup was served. We loved it and will be a home recipe favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
yummy!!! Made this tonight and it is amazing! I did add nutmeg & cinnamon, as other reviewers suggested. This as a keeper for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PJBHOME

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I had a couple of delicatas and a couple of carnival squash in our CSA box, so I used both varieties. I added about a half-teaspoon of freshly grated nutmeg and substituted non-fat Greek yogurt for the heavy whipping cream. The results were smooth, creamy, and very rich-tasting. Definitely a keeper! I can't wait to try it with just the delicatas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by calicarolee
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Ran across this recipe by typing in the search bar for delicata squash, so I made it!! I used chicken broth instead of vegetable broth and it turned out great. If my vegetable delivery man brings me more delicata squash, I'll be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I added some curry powder to take it up a notch! So yummmmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slycooley24

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States