Delicata Creamy Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
My husband ate a lot of this and he never, never eats squash. I used 4 small acorn squash from mom and dad's garden instead of the delicata. Also, I used 1 cup heavy cream and 1% milk for the last 1/2 cup. Really easy as flavorful, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Pahl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
It was good. "Ok" but my best friend makes a squash soup that's to die for so this is just ok. I've had much better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
This is so much better than butternut squash bisque. The ingredients are so simple and savory. I didn't use any butter, and it still tasted quite buttery/creamy with the heavy whipping cream. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
This is easy n good but a little bland so I put about 4 oz. of cream cheese in, used chicken broth and 1 cup of half n half and a dash of cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
The best squash soup ever! it is so easy to make and my whole family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
It is good but I can not eat much of this soup it is .... I don't know what word to use so I am going to use the word "rich". I would not use it as a main plate but as an appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Of all the soups I've been testing this winter, this is the best savory type. I made it as directed and it was easy to double. Easy to make,too, as that method of cooking the squash makes it a cinch to handle. This will be made again the next time I find delicata at my farmers' market!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Delicious! I had a couple delicata squash that I wanted to use for dinner and this turned out to be a great recipe for it! I made a few substitutions due to what was on hand (half-and half instead of heavy cream and chicken broth instead of vegetable broth). I'll definitely want to make this again if I have delicata squash again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Very good soup!! I will eat it again.I added some black beans and pinto beans and blended it all together.It made it more creamy and then melted marscapone cheese in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
I had Delicata squash in my veggie box. We have never had this type but we love squash so I searched here for a recipe and made this soup. It was so incredibly delicious! I made two changes - I subbed fat free half & half because I had it on hand, and I used white pepper instead of black. Also one reviewer suggested grating some fresh nutmeg on top which I did. Loved it! Will definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States